Day 6

Day of the 25 Song, 25 Days challenge is “A song that reminds you of your best friend.”

I know most people are thinking of songs about their human friends, but as soon as I read the descriptor for today I knew it had to be “Feed Jake” by Pirates of the Mississippi.

Jake is my dog. We rescued him from the city pound almost 8 years ago. I chose him out of

76_7567180028_6983_n

Jake was helping the kids celebrate their birthdays Hawaiian style.

all the other dogs because he was the only one who wasn’t barking or causing a fuss. We took him home the very next day. Best $25 I ever spent.

It was soon evident that Jake had been beaten by his previous owners. If I picked up an empty paper towel roll he was gone, cowering in a corner. Once he learned to trust me, to realize that I wasn’t going to hurt him, he became my best bud.

Jake is the first dog I’ve ever had as part of my family and I wouldn’t trade him for the world. Here’s a song for my best friend, Jake.

Remember to check out the song stylings at:

Did That Just Happen;

Melanie Jo Moore

Life in the Wylde West

Bishop Eddie Tatro’s Study

Four Calders

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 6

  1. Pingback: Hopeful | Bishop Eddie Tatro's Study

  2. Holly, I have totally forgotten about this song! THIS SONG!
    What a great selection, just love it!

  3. And I have never heard it, of course. I’m being introduced to all sorts of new good stuff. It had the prayer I used to say every night with my great grandma when I spent summers with her. Thank you for taking me back to that. Also, your dog is all sorts of adorable. Love his smile!

  4. I like the way you meant with this. Nice of you to do that for your dog. I never heard the dog but am listening as I type this.

  5. singleworkingmomswm says:

    Ah, didn’t need the tears on my lunch break, but what a sweet song and sweet story. I love your Jake, too. What a cutie!! XOXO-Kasey 🙂

  6. Pingback: 25 songs – 25 days Day 2: David Bowie – China Girl | Mavadelo's mindscape

  7. Pingback: 25 days – 25 songs day 3: They chose me – Faith refined | Mavadelo's mindscape

Leave a comment