Day 07

Day 07 is “A song that reminds you of the past summer.”

That wasn’t too hard to come up with. Last summer I had a really tough time with anxiety and panic attacks. So bad I couldn’t leave the house alone. Grocery shopping was torment. I remember standing in the aisle at WalMart leaning against Mike, moaning because it was so painful to be out in public.

I went 3 weeks without leaving my house. Mom got the groceries for me. Mike took care of everything else.

Unwell by Matchbox 20 is the PERFECT soundtrack for my summer 2013.

It wouldn’t let me link to the official video, sorry.

Remember to check out Did That Just Happen, melaniejomoore  and fourcalders for some more song selections.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in anxiety, depression, GAD, Mental health, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 07

  1. I love Matchbox 20. I can see how this song could be your soundtrack with the way you described your anxiety last summer.

    PS- I think it is absolutely normal to be uncomfortable in Walmart. That place… hmmmm… I’m always surprised I make it out of there without strangling someone.

  2. Pingback: Think…Think…Think | Bishop Eddie Tatro's Study

  3. I, too, love Matchbox 20. And oh my goodness, I think you picked a song that is spot on for you last summer! 🙂 Glad it’s better – you’ve done really well at getting out here lately!

  4. I’m glad things are better too, sounds like you went through a really rough spot, the family support is nice to hear about too. Oh Walmart, that’s all I will say about that.

  5. I never paid so much attention to that song even though I heard it before. I like it.

  6. This is an awesome song. Isn’t it so cool to find music that is so perfect such as this? I had a panic moment in a Target not too long ago. I haven’t been to a Walmart in ages. Now I stick to the local KMart, which is about as close to the way I remember department stores being when I was a kid, and I can handle it and the prices. I do more and more shopping on line because I find the shopping experience in the real world so stressful. Anyhow, so glad you are posting again! I love it! XXOO-Kasey

    • Holly says:

      We don’t even have KMart anymore. And the Canadian alternative, Zellers was bought out by Target last year.
      Shopping can be a drag. Everybody’s in a hurry, no one is paying attention and everyone seems grumpy. Not a great atmosphere when you’re sensitive to your surroundings.
      I’m glad you’ve found a place that you can handle shopping in.
      Big hugs to you and Maycee.

Leave a Reply

