An Editing Error

Ooops, I made a mistake and there was a bit tagged on to the end of Larry’s guest post that wasn’t meant to be there. Here is his post, properly edited.
Incomplete. There is work to be done. Where are you going? The job isn’t finished!
Are you the type who hates leaving things in the middle? The job can’t wait. The chore must be completed.
For a long time, I have been the “I’ll take a break when the work is done” sort of person. I could count on one hand the amount of books I started but did not complete. I took my lunch as late as possible because I did not feel comfortable eating when there was work to be done.
Break – who needs a break? I took pride in this. I puffed my chest out – I am productive. I fully believed that this is what adults were supposed to do. If you acted differently, you were soft or just were not fortunate enough to have my constitution.
If you have the junior Freud in you, you are probably analyzing this to come up with potential reasons. Maybe I was always trying to prove myself worthy to three older brothers.
There might be a shred of truth to this possibility. However, I am not in therapy so I will leave the deeper meaning for others. What I do know is that ultimately, this was often counter-productive.
Case in point. If I don’t eat or get a little space every once in a while, I get irritable.  My job as a high school English teacher is about as people-centered as you can get. The students are often demanding, needy, and loud. My productive self often rears its head in my “off periods,” pushing me to grade papers, make lessons plans, call parents, etc. My counterproductive self fights back. I just want to be alone and do nothing. Okay, I still eat my sandwich too fast and read my email faster than the side effects are announced at the end of a drug commercial, but I am making progress.
My productive self actually called out my counterproductive self when it comes to writing. I would find it hard to start something unless I knew I had time to finish it. I kept trying to find time to block off, promising myself I would get to work by nine and have two hours to really focus.
Well, things rarely go as planned. Maybe, it was a phone call from a friend, or a child who won’t go to sleep, or a stomach that feels off. Nights would pass when I would end up at the computer for shortened periods of time. I would end up doing more surfing than working figuring that I can’t get the job done anyway so I might as well put it off.
I’d like to tell you I have conquered my productive self. I’d be lying. Yes, the many hats I wear nowadays including blogger, free-lance writer and tutor (which are side orders to teacher and parent) have forced me to be a better manager of my time.  I know, at least inherently, that not everything is going to get completed – let alone when I want them to be. Some wonderful things won’t get completed or even started.
And that’s okay. It has to be okay.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to An Editing Error

  1. Thanks for allowing me to take up space on your blog.

  2. Great post, Larry! I’m with you – productive is my middle name. But less than perfect “has to be ok” because that’s just the way it is today. Today, I only have a limited amount of time to write and that has to be ok. You’re a wise man to be able to make life changes like this without therapy! 😉

  3. Raani York says:

    This is a great post!!! I love Larry’s writing!

  4. Letizia says:

    Larry is so right (and always writes it so well!). There’s the list of things to do and there’s the list of things that gets done and we have to make peace with that in order to have time for the real things that are unlistable!

  5. I follow Larry’s blog and it doesn’t surprise me that he is very productive, great guest post Larry! 🙂 when I used to work, I was the same, I didn’t take breaks, I used to my sandwich at my desk because there was too much work to do, now that I’m a stay-at-home other things keep my busy in my daily activities with my son, somehow I still can’t sit down and relax a bit!

    • Holly says:

      Thanks for commenting. I understand what you’re saying. It doesn’t matter the environment, if you’re a driven worker, you will be driven to work. I’ve had to slow down, my health forced it on me, but I never used to stop. Wish I had slowed down then, maybe then my health would be better now. Although, I am doing better now than I have in years and am looking forward to a very bright future.
      Remember to take the time to sit down and smell those roses. 🙂

Leave a comment