Insanity at the Madhouse

Sounds a little redundant, doesn’t it? Of course there’s insanity at the Madhouse. It’s the Madhouse!!!

This is a different kind of insanity, though. In an attempt to get me out of my Madhouse bubble and stretch outside my comfort zone (which is very teeny, tiny), I have starting crafting. I know, it’s almost cliche, but it’s definitely proved helpful.

Allowing myself to be creative and allowing myself to try something new and make mistakes has proven very beneficial to my mental health. The state of my living room, welllllll, that’s a different story. There’s glitter, glue and felt EVERYWHERE!! Even the dog has glitter on him (I think he looks pretty).

My dear friend, Ruthie and I rented a table at a local craft show (this is outside my comfort zone on so many levels you need a parachute to get back down to ground level). We named our little endeavour, Perky & Quirky, and laid our wares out for sale.

We are both book fiends so we focused some of our creative energies on upcycled book art. Ruthie has done some original artwork and photography, enlarged and framed. I displayed Christmas ornaments. Ruthie also had one-of-a-kind book purses for sale. And we made some fabulous bath products.

The sale wasn’t as successful financially has we had hoped but we both had lots of fun putting the stuff together. We spend 2 full days listening to (and singing with) some great music from the ’50s on up while we mixed, glued, glittered, brewed and modge-podged our brains out.

If you’re interested in checking out some of our stuff we’re on Facebook…

facebookWe’re also on Pinterest

pinterestLike us! Follow us! Buy our stuff!! It’s super cool.

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in anxiety, coping strategies, depression, Mental health, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Insanity at the Madhouse

  1. Love it and am so proud of you!

  2. Wow! This is great, Holly! Will check out the FB page. Yippee! 🙂 XOXO-Kasey

Leave a Reply

