Sunday Funnies

sunday funnies bannerThere has been a lot happening in the Madhouse over the past month, and I promise to write about it this week (maybe even tomorrow!! My calendar is free.)

There has been a lot happening in my community (municipal elections) and my country in the past few weeks too.

For those who haven’t heard, Canada lost two of our heroes, on home soil,  in recent weeks. Warrant Officer Patrice Vincent of Quebec was killed when a radical Islamist extremist ran Vincent and another soldier over with his car. The killer was chased by police and died by police gun fire.

1297620686702_ORIGINAL

Warrant Officer Patrice Vincent. Image courtesy of Google.ca.

That was October 20th. Two days later, 24-year-old Cpl. Nathan Cirillo, was shot and killed while standing honour guard at the National War Memorial.

National_War_Memorial

The National War Memorial, Ottawa, Ontario Image courtesy of Google.ca

war_memorial.jpg.size.xxlarge.promo

Cpl. Nathan Cirillo stands honour guard on the left behind the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Image courtesy of Google.ca.

B97384054Z.120141023155655000GLS75NT9.11

A popular political cartoon floating around Facebook, depicting one of the statue soldiers coming to Cirillo’s aid and a hand inviting him to join their ranks. Image courtesy of Google.ca.

After shooting Cirillo the lone gunman ran into the parliament building and opened fired. He was shot and killed by Sergeant-at-arms, Kevin Vickers. The best description I heard of the incident was from John Colbert’s show (although in second viewing I realize it’s a recount from the CBC).

1377014_10152338336556621_5011212968496103214_n

Yes sir, he most certainly is. Image courtesy of Google.ca.

So my topic wasn’t overly funny today, but Colbert was so I figured that made up for it. Thanks to our Amercian and International friends who have send condolences and words of support. It meant more that you will ever know.

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday Funnies

  1. It’s not funny, but totally needed said and shared! And, I think I was telling a friend of mine that I was just so broken-hearted because it happened in Canada! I know I poke fun at you a lot over the peaceful stereotype, but of all the places I expect to hear news like this, I never expected it to be in Canada!

    • Holly says:

      We certainly didn’t expect either. It’s a joke in our country that the only revolution in our history books was started by an American and lasted 3 days.
      We’re actually proud of our peaceful stereotype. Unless it comes to hockey and then it’s everyone for themselves. 😉

  2. Pingback: Sunday Funnies | survivingthemadhouse

Leave a Reply

