A Walk On the Wildside

Yesterday was a gorgeous fall day here in Southwestern Ontario. We’ve been experiencing unseasonably warm days in the high 20s (low 80s for my American friends) and I decided to take advantage of the beautiful weather and take a walk in the bush (walk in the woods).

Mike owns property in a village about 30 mins West of the city where I live and I was heading out there to pick something up for him so I decided to check out a small Conservation Area near there. I love walking in local Conservation Areas. The paths are usually well kept and they’re never very far from the nearest community.

I drove out the woodlot at the end of a dirt road (my white van isn’t very white anymore). Right away I noticed this Conservation Area was much smaller than the one I usually walk, but I saw a couple paths heading off the main trail and decided to plunge in.

I was sorely disappointed. Each of the paths led to a dead end after about 4 minutes of walking. I sighed in frustration. I had psyched myself for a great adventure and it was snuffed out before it had begun.

Then something magical happened. It was noon time so the sun was high in the sky and filtering through the trees. The breeze picked up. The towering ashes swayed and the air was filled with hundreds of floating yellowed leaves. Each leaf floated gently to the ground, like an elegant dancer on the wind.

And in that moment I was at peace. What a glorious feeling.

IMG_8383

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Walk On the Wildside

  1. What an awesome ending! I love that you were lead down several dead ends, but then found some peace! What a metaphor for life!!

  2. Such a beautiful post and lovely outcome to your day! XOXO-Kasey

  3. I wish we had more beautiful places like that to go walk around here. But then the thought of piling my two kids in the car and then in the stroller always gives me enough anxiety to just stay home lol… Maybe I should make a goal of exploring more and finding some nice places to walk now that it’s starting to cool down!
    I’d love to see the pictures of the horses!

Leave a Reply

