Adventures With My Teen Daughter

Today I received an unusual phone call from the doctor’s office. The receptionist asked me for Rian’s new Health Card number.

A resident of Ontario must have a health card to show that he or she is entitled to health care services paid for by OHIP. The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care pays for a wide range of services, however, it does not pay for services that are not medically necessary, such as cosmetic surgery.
from the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care website

Unknown

Image courtesy of Google.ca

“Umm, can you hang on while I find my purse?” I said. I hunted for my purse, found her Health Card, and sure enough Rian’s card expired in early April.

The receptionist advised me to take her and enough paperwork to prove who she is to the nearest Service Ontario office as soon as possible. I gathered her passport, Social Insurance Number card, birth certificate and all the court documents stating I have sole custody. I set them with my purse, in plain sight, and planned to take her after school.

On a side note, I’ve been suffering with severe anxiety attacks all week and it’s been a challenge leaving the house. So this outing was a big deal for me.

2b6b43e91ab4fb0a974b122c36aa3e8fRian arrived home from school around 3:15pm, as usual, and she and I headed d0wntown to the Service Ontario office. One of the nice things about living in a smaller town is that it only ever takes 15 minutes to get anywhere so we were there in no time.

Even better, there was only one person in line ahead of us. Woo hoo!! When our turn came I told the lady behind the counter that my daughter’s health card had expired. I told her I was advised to bring all her I.D. and everything under the sun to prove she’s my daughter.

The lady chuckled. She told me that since Rian is now 16  all she needs is her ID, in this case her passport was sufficient, and proof of address. Which I did not have.

The lady asked if Rian had received a package from the Ministry. I said “No, not that I know of. Rian, did you get any mail a couple of months ago?”

“Ummmm, maybe. I got some mail a couple of months ago but I didn’t know what it was so I didn’t open it.”

I hung my head as the lady laughed.

Rian and I left the Service Ontario office. Once in the van I asked her about the mail and showed her the government of Ontario logo explaining that the envelope would have that symbol on it. She recognized it right away.

trillium_logo_2

Image courtesy of Google.ca.

“I think it’s under my dresser.” Because who doesn’t keep all their mail under their dresser?

Once we arrived at home she went searching under her dresser, but it wasn’t there. I suggested she look under her bed.

She rolled her eyes at me, “It wouldn’t be under there, mom. I always put that stuff in that pile right there, beside my dresser.”

Of course, how silly of me.

1341280763107_1872846

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, children's mental health, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Adventures With My Teen Daughter

  1. hahaahahahaha! That’s funny!

  2. Oh, gosh! I go through the same things with Maycee at 10….you mean….no hope as she gets older? LOL XOXO-Kasey

  3. Sorry to hear that you have had severe anxiety attacks all week.
    In the end, were you able to get the card?
    Btw, you were able to get out for this – that’s a good thing!

Leave a Reply

