Day 10

“A song by your favourite band.” is Day 10’s challenge.

Now this is really challenging. I don’t have a favourite band. It’s rare I listen to one genre of music for longer than 2 songs, listening to one band for the length of a CD hasn’t happened since I was in high school (and a big Garth Brooks fan).

I’m stumped. OK, I have an idea. I’ll narrow it down to bands I have seen live in concert. Let’s see, that would be The Crash Test Dummies, Garth Brooks, April Wine, The Rankin Family, The Wiggles and Rascal Flatts.

Now, The Wiggles do put on a good show but I’m disinclined to include them in my music list. I think I’ll choose something of the Rankins. I saw that concert with my mom. They put on one heck of a show. It was hard to stay in our seats, but since we were in the balcony we opted to remain seated. There was a lot of toe tapping though.

Here’s the one we tapped to the most – Mull River Shuffle by The Rankin Family. Makes me wish I’d been raised out East.

Remember to check out the song stylings at:

Did That Just Happen;

Melanie Jo Moore

Life in the Wylde West

Bishop Eddie Tatro’s Study

Four Calders

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Day 10

  1. Pingback: Lucky 13…Day 13. | Bishop Eddie Tatro's Study

  2. I’ve never heard of them or this song – but I LOVE IT!! That lead singer just has such passion!! Of course, now I really want to know what Wiggles song you would have picked! LOL

    • Holly says:

      The Rankin Family are a band from Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. They consisted of 2 brothers and 3 sisters. One of the brothers and one of the sisters have since passed away.
      They put on a great show. So lively. All the girls did Irish step dancing, or at least the East Coast version of it. Just phenomenal.
      mmmm, The Wiggles. I asked the kids and we picked this one: Old Man Emu from Wiggly Safari

  3. I never heard of them before. They sound pretty wacky.

  4. Pingback: harder and harder still | Bishop Eddie Tatro's Study

  5. Pingback: 25 Songs – 25 days day 6: Andalusia – Joe Satriani | Mavadelo's mindscape

  6. Pingback: 25 Songs 25 Days Day 7 Blurred Lines – Robin Thickle | Mavadelo's mindscape

  7. Pingback: 25 Songs – 25 Days Day 8: Kleine Kokette Katinka – de Spelbrekers | Mavadelo's mindscape

  8. Pingback: Day 14 | survivingthemadhouse

  9. Pingback: 25 Songs – 25 Days day 10 several artist but main stage for Elvis Presley – American Trilogy | Mavadelo's mindscape

Leave a Reply

