Day 08

Day 08 – “A song that reminds you of your first love.”

J. and I never actually dated in high school. We didn’t date at all. He was one of my dearest friends though.

He had this on-again-off-again girlfriend, M., all through high school who just hated me. She was so jealous of the affection J. and I had for one another and she just despised me for it (this is according to a mutual friend).

During one of their “off” periods J. invited me to go to aΒ  Bryan Adams concert with him. I was really excited. Not only would I get to see a great, Canadian artist, but J. and I would have our first date. Maybe, just maybe the mutual crush we had on each other (he had confessed this to me) would turn into something more.

Alas, it was not to be. M. found out he asked me and despite the fact that they were not together at the time she told him she wanted to go to the concert. He called me and told me he was taking M. instead.

Now every time I hear a Bryan Adams song I’m reminded of J.

Check out the other blogging DJs:

Did That Just Happen;

Melanie Jo Moore

Life in the Wylde West

Bishop Eddie Tatro’sΒ Study

Four Calders

Mavadelo’s Mindscape

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Day 08

  1. Pingback: Come near and I’ll tell you a Tale! | Bishop Eddie Tatro's Study

  2. I like Bryan Adams and have not heard him in years plus add a little Sting and heck even a little Rod (great mix of voices). Thank you and I like the story. Now is J your husband now? I’m just getting to know you but if so your love story is very similar to my love story with motorcycle man. Friendship first make the best husbands for later.

    • Holly says:

      No, J. isn’t my husband, but I’m good friends with him and his wife. I Stupidhead when I was 19 and he walked out 7 years ago after 12 years of abuse. I now have Mike in my life and am truly blessed. I’m looking forward to getting to know you!

  3. What a bummer! Sorry that didn’t ever happen.
    Hope you still made it to a Bryan Adams concert.

  4. There was a 3 Musketeers movie with Chris O’Donnell (or something like that) and I think this song was part of that sound track.

    anyway – love it! Love their voices and I want to marry Bryan Adams πŸ™‚ Hey! We can go to a concert! I just have to save a lot of money and then we can meet half way! It has to be in the States cause I don’t have a passport thing.

    • Holly says:

      You don’t have a passport??? That’s just crazy!! lol, just kidding, I didn’t have a passport until I wanted to take the kids to Florida a few years ago. Of course, I only live a couple of hours away from the US border so it’s nice to have. There’s lots of places I’d like to go to in Michigan and Pennsylvania that aren’t too, too far from here. Maybe this summer I’ll get to go.
      I’m way off track here….yes, the song was from the Three Musketeers with Chris O’Donnell, Kiefer Sutherland, Charlie Sheen and Oliver Platt.

  5. I’ve had a couple of really close male friends in my life, too. Ones that never materialized into romantic relationships but could have and were special nonetheless. Bryan Adams is so cool, and even though the reason for the memory is bitter sweet, the song is awesome! Have a great weekend! I’ll catch up on these on Monday. πŸ™‚ XOXO

  6. I’ve always had a bit of a Rod Stewart crush! Whoever decided these three needed to sing together was a genius. My favorite part is when they are making fun of Rod’s hair in the beginning πŸ™‚

  7. fourcalders says:

    Hey Holly. I absolutely love Bryan Adams and have a signed poster in my cupboard from one of his concerts. I should frame it one of these days. I love every song and dragged my hubby along to the concert even though he’s not that crazy about him. πŸ™‚ I also had a Stupidhead once. Glad we make it past those guys to the good ones. Great song and great story to go along with it. Glad you and J are still friends.

    • Holly says:

      You should definitely frame that!! What a great keepsake. Your hubby’s good stuff to go with you. πŸ™‚
      And yes, so glad I’ve made it passed Stupidhead and have found Mike. Glad you did too! πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Day 14 | survivingthemadhouse

Leave a Reply

