Day 04

Day 4 of the 25 songs, 25 Days challenge is “A song that calms you down.”

Being someone who suffers with anxiety and panic attacks having a song that would calm me down would be great. Unfortunately, such a beast does not exist.

I am very sensitive to music. Music moves me, evoking all sorts of emotions – tears, anger, heartbreak, joy, elation. What this musical sensitivity means for me is that once I’m in a state of anxiety music will, more often than not, further intensify my anxiety.

What I have found that does help is this sound – rain on a canvas tent. I find it very soothing and have spent many hours listening to this track.

What do you think? Soothing?

Don’t forget to check out Kate (who is ultimately responsible for this musical journey) at Did That Just Happen.

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in anxiety, GAD, Mental health, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Day 04

  1. Oh how I love this! I am a big fan of rain, especially the sound of rain! Love it on a canvas tent! I hear this and feel so very connected with nature and myself! That’s an awesome selection for today!

  2. I have never been someone who listens to these nature sounds but I can understand how people find it soothing. If I were listening to something to soothe me, I might listen to instrumental music. I find it calming so simply be in a quiet place.

  3. fourcalders says:

    I actually cannot stand silence. I need to have some noise, but I so agree that sometimes you choose music or a song that you think will help your mood or soothe you and it can in turn make you more emotional. I have never purchased one of these sounds CD’s or songs, but every time I hear them in stores I absolutely love them. I really must get some. I love the sound of the rain and the ocean. Off to google or search iTunes. 🙂 Thanks Holly.

    • Holly says:

      Check out youtube. They have tons of these nature sounds listed, then you try them out and find the one you like best before making a purchase. 🙂

  4. I could listen to this all day long and feel at peace. I have an app on my phone with rain noise, river noise, ocean waves. It’s called white noise. I adore it. I play it when I lay down to rest.

  5. Oh, wow, love this. It makes me want to go camping in the rain, steam up a pot of campfire coffee, and just relax. Ahhhhhhh. Love it! XOXO-Kasey

    • Holly says:

      It is so soothing. I just love it too. It’s almost camping season, another couple of months and it should be warm enough to camp. At least up here, you may be able to camp earlier than we will.

Leave a Reply

