Day 3

Day 3 – “A song that reminds you of one/or both of your parents.”

Wow. That’s a tough one. I can think of a few for my dad without a problem. Dad drove transport while I was growing up so obviously any song about trucking (18 Wheeler by Alabama, Convoy by C. W. McCall) reminds me of my dad. But one for my mom…that’s a lot tougher.

My mom was always listening to music. Usually the oldies, she loves the oldies. I can associate a ton of music with her, but to narrow it down to just one song? It seems impossible. Hmmmm, this challenge is proving tougher than it sounded. I really want to honour my mom, but I just can’t narrow it down to one song.

IMG_0366

Image courtesy of Google.ca.

There’s one song that’s kinda special between me and my dad. When I was young we would spend some weekends at my dad’s. Sometimes on  Sundays he would turn off the TV and we’d go down to the basement. He’d turn on the big oak, floor model stereo he bought when he was 18 and we’d play records and dance.

My favourite, and he’d play it over and over for me, was “I’m In Love With a Big, Blue Frog” by Peter, Paul and Mary.

Skip to 1:20 to hear the song.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 3

  1. Love it! And what great memories!
    This challenge is harder than I expected on several of the days!

    • Holly says:

      I’m ahead by a few days, but it’s taking a lot longer to come with just the right tune than I thought it would! Last night lying in bed I was thinking about Day 7’s challenge, trying to find just the right song! lol

  2. My wife has told me on a number of occasions that her father was also a PPM fan.
    By the way, the bit before hand was amusing It seems like they are having fun.
    Sounds like a nice memory.

    • Holly says:

      Yes, I think they were a very playful group. They put a children’s album I bought for the kids called Peter, Paul and Mommy, too! It was awesome. Of course, the kids have outgrown it now, but we all loved it when they were little.
      It is one of the nicest memories I have my dad. We have had a rocky relationship over the last 20 years, ever since I grew up and he remarried. So I really hold onto the memory associated with this song.

  3. fourcalders says:

    What a great memory. Funny, and I totally see how this would be a great memory for a child and their parent. I can picture a parent doing really silly dances to entertain their kids. This is great.

  4. How fun is that! 🙂 What a great memory!! XOXO-Kasey

Leave a Reply

