Random Ramblings

random

 

 

Today’s Random Ramble is a recipe. At the request of Kate, at Did That Just Happen, I am sharing the Skillet Chocolate Chip recipe I made for Rian’s Sweet 16 Birthday Party back in January.

Turns out I got the recipe from good ol’Martha. I found a copyright note with the recipe so I can’t reprint here, but I’ll add another link at the bottom.

IMG_7302Start with cast-iron skillet. I’ve always wanted a cast-iron skillet. Mike and I saw this one at a local thrift store and he bought it for me. It cleaned up really well.

Pre-heat your oven to 350F (we commonly use the imperial system when cooking and baking in Canadian, but in case anyone wants to know that’s 180C).

Cream your butter (always use real butter, margarine just doesn’t turn out the same, it’s not nearly as yummy) and sugar together.

IMG_7303

Look! I took a selfie in the bowl!!

Add your egg and vanilla and then stir in your dry ingredients.

IMG_7304After that is mixed add your chocolate chips. I use the miniature ones just because I think they’re cute.

IMG_7306

I admire Martha’s commitment to chocolate chips. Go big or go home I say.

Next spread the dough in your skillet. This can be tricky as the dough is quite thick. I spray non-stick cooking spray on my spreader. It really helps.

IMG_7307Now pop it in the oven and wait 20 minutes (it’s a really long 20 minutes, just letting you know).

IMG_7308Ding! Ding! Ding! Wait is over!! YAY!!!!!!!

IMG_7309 IMG_7310Ok, I need to sign off so I can go enjoy warm cookie. With milk.

Go to Martha Stewart’s website for the recipe for Skillet Chocolate Chip Cookie.

 

All photos copyright Holly McNea 2014.

 

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Random Ramblings

  1. Now all I need is a cast iron skillet!! Looks so yummy.

  2. Yay!! Thank you! I can’t wait to try it!

    And it totally cracked me up that you use the imperial system for baking! And, I didn’t know it was called the imperial system.

    I use my cast iron for so many things, I hope that you find uses for it besides the cookie, but even if you don’t, I think it was all worth it!

    • Holly says:

      It’s called the imperial system because in England, centuries ago, the measurements were based on the ruling monarch’s measurements. ie a foot was actually the length of his or her foot. Probably explains why so much of their architecture does not have consistent measurements.

  3. Yum and holy yum! I need a cast iron skillet! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Holly says:

      It was so worth it!! Buying second-hand was not only cheaper, it was already seasoned. I looked up how to clean it and reseason it and ta-da! a great skillet.

Leave a Reply

