Random Ramblings

randomI know it’s been a while since I’ve submitted a rambling. I’ve been really struggling with motivation. I’m afraid I’ve been letting the lethargy and apathy win, but today I’m going to fight back and share this story with you.

Several years ago, when the kids were 7 and 9 (feels like a lifetime ago) my dad invited us to take a trip to Texas with him in the transport truck. The kids were pretty excited about going and I had the week off work so I agreed to go.

It was an interesting trip all around but the highlight was the hotel in Houston where we stayed one night (all the other nights we slept in the bunk in the truck). The hotel had a pool and the kids were ecstatic about being able to go swimming.

98_7567540028_6950_n 98_7567565028_8415_n

It was July but we were the only ones using the pool. At one point I noticed a little Latino girl watching us from the window. She seemed fascinated with watching the kids play in the pool. I waved to her, but before she could respond her mother ushered her away from the window. I assume she was being told it wasn’t polite to stare. In her defense she had probably never seen such pasty, white people (see Canadian) before.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Random Ramblings

  1. hahahahaha! I wasn’t going to say anything about how white the kids were… the pool was probably empty because you guys were blinding everyone! (Okay, they aren’t that pasty white) πŸ™‚ And – Yay for Texas!!!
    You should blog more! I’ve missed your posts!

    • Holly says:

      We are definitely a “fair” family! lol Texas was fun. We went to the caves and the kids saw an armadillo (it was roadkill, but they were excited none the less). I’d love to go back some day.
      I do need to write more. I’ve caving to the lethargy, apathy and stress I’ve been experiencing. I need to battle it more.

  2. Interesting – what inspired this post? Kind of sad this genuine exchange was halted.

  3. Aussa Lorens says:

    I never fault anyone for staring at my pasty whiteness πŸ˜‰

    • Holly says:

      LOL, I noticed, you too, have lovely fair skin. There was a point in time when women would attempt to bleach their skin to get a fair complexion. Sigh, too bad we live in the age of the golden tan (which I can never seem to get).

Leave a Reply

