Heading South of the Border

This weekend I’m heading south of the border, the Canada/US border that is, with my friends M and R for a weekend of shopping at a huge outlet mall. I’m having mixed feelings about going. One, I really don’t have the money to go shopping (which kinda makes shopping not that much fun) and two, this is the first time I’ll be away from the kids for a whole weekend. The first time ever (just a reminder my kids are 13 and 15).

I’ve been away from them overnight a handful of times (like 5 or 6) in the last 6 years. I know I’m leaving them in good hands, Mike and mom will be taking care of them, but I’m still anxious about it.

Also, the new meds are still leaving me feeling groggy and foggy (even the kids’ dr commented on my lack of engagement yesterday). I’m afraid I won’t be as entertaining as my friends may be expecting.

Hopefully the stops at Bob Evans (we don’t have Bob Evans in Canada that I know of), Olive Garden (we don’t have one around here) and the Lindt outlet store will help me get over my worries.

Free-Lindt-Chocolate

Chocolate, the cure-all for all life’s troubles.
Image courtesy of Google.ca.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, anxiety, children's mental health, GAD, Mental health, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Heading South of the Border

  1. You’ll have fun! I know it! And, there will be some little something you can buy just to get it out of your system. πŸ™‚ We find a way, and it’s worth it! And, it’s wonderful that your mom and bf will be able to be with the kids…moms need to get a break, right? You know how I feel about that! LOL. Maybe some day you’ll be heading south of the border and right on down to the Central Coast! XOXO-Kasey

  2. I’m so excited about your trip! It always seems like it won’t be fun when you can’t blow the money, but you’ll still enjoy looking around and getting exercise will release endorphins!
    The first time I remember leaving T for more than a day was for a 3 day trip out of town. Day 2 my parents called and asked where I left the insurance card. The next call was letting me know he had a double ear infection.
    I survived. He survived. You’ll survive too!

    • It was a work trip, so that’s why I stayed the last day.

      • Holly says:

        Poor Mr. T!! That couldn’t have been fun for him. You must have been worried sick.
        My mom asked me to leave their health cards and make sure we had all their meds so the medical avenue is covered. I just hope they don’t drive poor Mike nuts! lol
        I’ll post about the trip when I get back. I need to get back in the habit of posting, even if it’s not about mental health.

      • Yes, you do need to blog more!!
        And I always left a medical release with whoever T was staying with (either my parents or family friends) because I had trips to take for work, but they had to have the form giving my permission for my parents to have T treated. I can’t tell you how many of those forms I’ve printed up over the years! πŸ™‚
        And, in case you didn’t hear me, blog more!!! It doesn’t have to be about anything! Just do it! πŸ™‚

      • Holly says:

        lol, Yes m’am. πŸ˜‰

  3. Enjoy the trip. It sounds like getting away will be good for you. As you said, they are in good hands and you will have some time with friends.

  4. Winding road says:

    You deserve this fun wknd away! I’d be anxious too but I bet that will subside shortly after you walk out the door πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

