Random Ramblings

randomRecently I started seeing a new therapist. I like her. She’s local, which means I have a lot less driving, and she has a great rate, which means I’m not breaking the bank every week.

One of the things she has me doing to help self-induce calm is called colour meditation. For 20 minutes a day I break out my Crayola pencil crayons and colour. She gave some sheets and images to start with, called Mandala.

mandala-07

Image courtesy of Google.ca.

Mandala is a Sanskrit word meaning circle or spirit. The images are usually circular patterns, often resembling snowflakes (at least they do in this Canadian’s opinion). I find it very soothing. There’s a rhythm to the colouring that I enjoy and find relaxing.

I may even splurge and buy myself a box of 64 pencil crayons from Amazon.

p75117b

Image courtesy of Google.ca.

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, anxiety, coping strategies, depression, GAD, Mental health, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Random Ramblings

  1. Interesting. 64 crayons – that’s big time. Did you see a post I wrote about them? Check it out. I think it may give you a laugh: http://larrydbernstein.com/teach-me-colors-crayola-crayons/

  2. I love, love, love those types of patterns. There is something so soothing to sit down and color them! Interesting therapy and I’m so glad that it’s going well. I’ve been dying for the update!!

    And I think you should get the 64 pack, go big or go home!! πŸ™‚

    • Holly says:

      I’ve been struggling with writing and communicating in general. Poor Mike doesn’t know what’s going on half the time because I’ve clammed up so much. Sigh, it’s going to get better, just going to take time.

  3. Valerie says:

    Oh man, I LOVE coloring those things!! I’m glad you’re happy with your new therapist. πŸ™‚

    • Holly says:

      I had never seen them before. At first I thought it was a little weird, but I’m really starting to enjoy it. πŸ™‚

      • Valerie says:

        I found some workbooks at a school supply store years ago for my daughter who was an avid color-er at the time. *I* love them still, though! πŸ˜‰

      • Holly says:

        Thank God for photocopiers, eh? I’d be lost without being able to print off and copy the ones I have that I like.

  4. Winding road says:

    what an awesome prescription! My husband and I both find coloring so therapeutic. I will often find him coloring long after the kids have left the table πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

