Perception

perceptoin

Image courtesy of Google.ca.

I’ve been watching this TV show, Perception, about a professor who is schizophrenic and helps the FBI solve crimes. From IMDB.com:

Dr. Daniel Pierce is an eccentric neuroscientist who uses his unique outlook to help the federal government solve complex criminal cases.

The end of each episode is the end of one of his lectures. Most recently he spoke about growing up with a mental illness.

Life awaits. Meaningful friendships. Inspiring work. Independence. Your place in the world. They’re all just waiting outside your door. Now imagine if that door was locked. No key, no side exit. You’re trapped while everybody else blossoms around you. That’s what it feels like growing up with a mental illness….We all have to figure out who we are beyond our diagnoses. It’s a long process that begins with learning how to trust our own minds again.*

Totally blew me away, how wonderfully the writers described how it feels and beautifully Eric McCormack (he plays the doctor) delivered these lines.

*From Perception, Season 2, Episode 8 – Asylum

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, anxiety, children's mental health, coping strategies, depression, GAD, Mental health, OCD, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD, schizonphrenia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Perception

  1. Sounds really well done.

  2. I like that show! Not enough to DVR it, but enough that I will leave it on the TV when I catch it on! The writers on that show blow me away too with their insights and dialog about it!

    Congrats on your Iron Man award!!! I know you haven’t announced it – but I saw it on the blog that nominated you!

    • Holly says:

      thanks, I’ve scheduled the announcement for Monday. I still have to write tomorrow’s blog. Trying to decided what topic to cover. Always lots happening in the Madhouse 😉

Leave a Reply

