Awards

Ok, one would think when one is honoured with an award, one would remember to blog about it. That is, of course, unless one is me (I think my brain is turning to mush).

My dear blogging buddy, Kate at Did That Just Happen has awarded me not one, but TWO awards. I am so flattered, I’m blushing.*. The problem is these awards come with rules. I’m not always so good with rules, so I’m just going to make it up as I go along.

The first award is the WordPress Family Award.

wordpress-family-awardThis is an award for everyone who is part of the “WordPress Family.”  A blogger named Shaun started this award on the basis that the WordPress family has taken him in, and showed him love and a caring side only WordPress can.  The way people take a second to be nice, to answer a question and not make things a competition amazes him.  He has been given many awards, but he wanted to leave his own legacy on here by creating his own award, as many have done before.  This represents “Family” we never meet, but are there for us as family.

So first I am to acknowledge the giver of the award (see above). Then I am to award the award (tongue twister) to 10 other WordPress bloggers. The problem here is I don’t keep up with 10 blogs and Kate already acknowledged some of the blogs I read. So, being the “weird Canadian” (Kate’s description) that I am, I’m just going to name some of my favourite WordPress reads and ignore the rules (’cause that’s just how I roll).

1. Single Working Mom – I’ve been reading Kasey’s blog for almost 2 years and I love her sense of fun and playfulness. She is a woman of immense gratitude and love and it shows in her writing. Nothing matters more to her than family so I think this award is fitting for her.

2. Attention Deficit Whatever – Jonathan is a fabulous writer who shares his personal journey as and adult with ADHD. This topic fascinates me and I love to read about his progress and set backs with mental health. I also love the little “squirrel” type posts (they resemble my ramblings) that pop up in my inbox once in a while. Always quirky.

3. BarnYarn is another fav. Tina lives not far from where I do though we’ve yet to meet in person (I have been promised a strawberry social next year though – yummy). Tina blogs about her exploits on the farm and her loving husband, Albert. Having grown up in a rural community I find her stories most amusing and very nostalgic.

The other blogs I read all belong to friends (or Kate already nominated them) and they only post every 6 months or so, so I don’t think it’s fair to include them.

The second award is the Super Sweet Blog Award (who knew the Madhouse was sweet??).

Cupcake4Now for the rules:

1. Thanks the blogger than nominated you – thanks again to Kate at Did That Just Happen? You are spoiling me with accolades.

2. Answer 5 super-sweet questions listed below.

3. Include the Super Sweet Blogging Award in your post – absotively, I love have pretty awards on my blog.

4. Nominate a Baker’s Dozen (13) other deserving bloggers (I’m stealing Kate’s since I don’t have 13 blogs)

5. Notify Super Sweet nominees on their blog.

1. Cookies or Cake?

– Cookies. I love peanut butter cookies (and the dough – yum, yum), chocolate chip, oatmeal, Oreo, Fudge cookies, haystacks (you know, the ones with coconut, oatmeal, cocoa and enough sugar to give a horse diabetes? I love them soooooo much).

chocolate_health_food

2. Chocolate or Vanilla?

– Chocolate!! Always chocolate. Unless I’m mixing it with fruit then it’s vanilla.

3. Favorite Sweet Treat? 

– Um, did I mention chocolate?? Or maple syrup. I drink maple syrup. Or butter tarts. I love butter tarts.

syrup2

4. When Do You Crave Sweet Things The Most?

– All the time. Twice as much when I’m tired and 10 times as much during a special time (ladies, I know you understand).

5. Sweet Nick Name?

– I don’t really have any nick names, but if I did I think I’d like sweetheart the most.

Old-Dessert-Sign-1476349Now time for the nominees – please take a minute and visit their sites, you might find that you have a new blog to enjoy! (I plagiarized this entire list from Kate. I’m glad she lives in Texas and won’t show up on my doorstep to give me a whoppin’)

  1. Motherhood is an art – Three kids that keep you totally entertained!
  2. The Irish Wench – We are new to each other, but she’s been so sweet!!
  3. Graced by Emilie – Mother of 2, including one “yucky boy”.
  4. Fortuitous (all four of them) – With four, you never know what you will get!
  5. 3 Chic Geeks (all three of them!) – Totally there to let my inner nerd out!
  6. Surviving the Madhouse – One of the most awesome and honest blogs out there! (I’m blushing)
  7. Grow, Glow, Go – I’m new to her, but have loved how open and sweet she is!
  8. Raising 5 kids with disabilities and remaining sane – seriously, name says it all!
  9. The Top 10 of Anything and Everything – mainly cause I’d love to see his blog about all of the blogger awards!
  10. My Journey to Live an Authentic Life – Always entertaining and willing to share her life
  11. Looking Inward with Lily – her Wordless Wednesday’s are the best part of my day!
  12. Waiting on a Word – cracks me up frequently, and she does the WP challenges which I’ve been too scared to try!
  13. Insert your blog here!  I have so many more bloggers that I follow – and enjoy reading – I just can’t pick a 13th person.  So, feel free to grab this and state that I nominated you for it!

That’s it for today and don’t forget to check out the other blogs. You may find one almost as good as the Madhouse (tooting my own horn a bit right there).

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Awards

  1. hahahahahha – that’s too funny – you never know, I might show up on your doorstep! 🙂 So, what’s a butter tart? Is that another weird Canadian things? The first thing that came to mind was Paula Deen’s butter cake – it’s like ooey gooey butter cake – and Walmart sells it so I don’t have to make it myself!

    • Holly says:

      Butter tarts are yummy gooey goodness. They’re made with corn syrup and usually have pecans in them, but I don’t like pecans so I leave them out. You can make a similar tart using maple syrup instead of corn syrup, also super yummy. 🙂

  2. Congrats on the award.
    I’m with you on the chocolate.

  3. Jess says:

    Congrats on the awards, fellow Chocolate Lover! And thanks for the nominations! Kate’s the best.

    • Holly says:

      Thanks, so nice to meet a fellow Chocolate Lover. 🙂
      Kate is the best! I’m so glad I met her in this online world. Looking forward to getting to know you too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

