Random Ramblings

ramblings

One day while I was working at the library there were two teenage girls in line. They were busy texting on their cell phones and failed to realize that their turn had arrived. I was able to get their attention long enough for them to put the book they were checking out on the counter.

I smiled and asked the one girl for her library card. No response. I asked again. She didn’t even look up from her cell phone, neither did her friend. I finally said, rather loudly (for a library) “Your card, please.”

The teen girl looked up from her phone with an expression that said “huh?” and I repeated my request. “Oh”, she said, reaching into her pocket and tossing the card on the counter immediately going back to her phone. I proceeded to check out her book and when the date due slip had printed I said “thank you” and handed the book back.

The girls continued to stand there and text. There was a long line behind them and I was anxious to serve the next person. I gently pushed the book closer to the edge of the counter and repeated “thank you”.

Nothing.

Finally I said in most polite library voice, “I’m done now.” and pushed the book even farther off the counter. The girl’s head snapped up. She was not impressed. I handed her the book and told her, very politely, “I’m done. You can go now.”

The girl grabbed the book and she and her friend left the line. I smiled at the lady who was next and asked her for her library card. As the girls were exiting you could hear the borrower say, quite loudly to her friend in a valley girl drawl, “She was sooo rude.”

The lady I was serving looked at me with wide eyes, unbelieving of what she had just seen and heard. I smiled and shrugged my shoulders. Ahhhh, teens and technology.

teens and phones

Image courtesy of Google.ca.

 

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Random Ramblings

  1. LOL – she didn’t stop playing with her phone long enough to even have noticed if you were rude or not. Which you weren’t. Which you totally get props for!!!

    • Holly says:

      I know! It’s actually my favourite customer service story to share. I try very hard not to use my phone when I’m being waited on. And thanks, I do try to be polite, I’m very Canadian that way πŸ˜‰

      • Hahahhahahaha. You’re right, you seem so normal I forget you are Canadian and as such super polite!! I always hang up or put my phone down when it’s my turn to check out anywhere. I didn’t always, but the last several years I’ve realized what a difference it makes!

      • Holly says:

        It’s the little things that make the biggest difference. I make a point of complimenting random women. “I like your hair”, “what a lovely pendant”. It’s amazing how something so simple can brighten someone else’s day and make you feel just a little bit perkier too. πŸ™‚

      • Very true! I love your hair today, btw, it looks good!

      • Holly says:

        LOL, Thanks, considering I spent the whole day sweating and cleaning I’m so glad my hair held up. πŸ˜›

  2. You’re the rude one. Please. Wake up kid.

  3. So sad, but kudos to you for not letting it get to you while you were working! XOXO-Kasey

    • Holly says:

      I tried very hard to remain professional. Trust me, it wasn’t easy. The mom in me wanted to ground her from her cell phone and walk through everything that she needed to do to better assimilate to societal norms. But I kept my game face on.

Leave a Reply

