Random Ramblings

ramblings

 

 

Recently I caved to the pressure of my geeky friends and started watching Doctor Who (the new one that started in 2005). Curses! I am now a Whovian (Whovian is the term used to described fans of Doctor Who).

I can’t seem to get enough of this British sci-fi show. The special effects are nothing extraordinary. The voices of the evil Daleks are nerve wracking (and they’ve been featured in a number of episodes). The fact that they keep changing actors (The Doctor regenerates so he is, essentially, the same character but in a new body) is enough to drive a fan nuts. But I can’t stop watching it.

doctorwho

Image found on Pinterest.
Factoid: Pinterest has a category titled “Geek” dedicated to all things nerdy, geeky and otherwise obsessed about.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I started watching when Chris Eccleston was playing The Doctor (Nine). I loved him. He had a great voice and such wonderful, goofy smile. Eccleston would only commit to one season though so he was replaced by David Tennant (Ten) in 2006. I’m still watching him as The Doctor and am enjoying his performance. I’ve been reading mixed reviews about Matt Smith who plays The Doctor (Eleven) currently, but will reserve judgement until I see him for myself. Apparently he’s leaving the show this year too (I’ll have to adapt to another actor!). We won’t even talk about the turn-around on “companions” the term in the Doctor Who series for sidekick.

doctorwho2

Eccleston as Nine, Smith as Eleven and Tennant as 10. The Doctor’s ship, the T.A.R.D.I.S. (Time and Relative Dimension In Space), looks a 1950s British Police Box and is “bigger on the inside”.
Image courtesy of Google.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The series first aired in 1963 and was a staple of British television for 26 years with 8 different actors portraying the Time Lord.

“Along with a succession of companions, the Doctor faces a variety of foes while working to save civilisations, help ordinary people, and right wrongs.” – from Wikipedia

history-of-doctor-who-characters-entertainment-infographic

Image courtesy of Google.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Doctor travels through space and time in his trusty TARDIS solving problems and saving worlds with wit, genius and a sonic screwdriver.

Ok, I’m done showing my geeky side now. Thanks for humouring me.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in friendship and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Random Ramblings

  1. A Whovian? That is odd. I am glad you are enjoying your show even if you are being a bit obsessive.

  2. HAHAHAHA!!! It was only a matter of time. Now you just need to find a way to fit wibbily wobbily timey whimey into your vocabulary.

  3. πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you are enjoying it!! It’s way too much fun! I can’t wait to see who will be the new doctor! Now I feel the need to go back and start over from Eccleston!

    • Holly says:

      You should! They’re on the same site I sent you for Supernatural. I want to watch them with the kids this summer. I think there are some wonderful lessons to be learned. Like how everything isn’t black and white and sometimes tough decisions have to be made even when the choices both suck. And there can be huge consequences to what seem like the smallest decisions. Yup, Doctor Who teaches life lessons.

  4. guittech says:

    Ha! I knew we’d catch you eventually!!! sorry, missed this post last week πŸ™‚ Ten is my favorite…. The fact that he is coming back for the 50th anniversarys how is AMAZING!!!! Matt Smith took a couple episodes to grow on me, but his companions, Rory and Amy make it SOOOO worthwhile! New Companion though? she was great in the first appearance, (Asylum of the Daleks) but afterwards, meh.

    • Holly says:

      I avoided it for so long and now I’m totally addicted!! Curse you BBC.

      I’m still on Ten. I’m holding judgement on Eleven until I see him for myself, but I’m curious who they’ll get for Twelve since he’s announced he’s leaving. I just finished Planet of the Dead, but must stop in order to accomplish grown-up-type things. Meh.

Leave a Reply

