Random Ramblings

ramblingsIt’s getting late in the Madhouse. It’s almost midnight. Even the cats have stopped chasing each other up and down the hall in their nightly game of hallway tag (seriously, elephants in a wind tunnel wouldn’t make as much noise). I can’t sleep. I’m tired enough. I just can’t seem to settle.

My mind is wandering. When it’s not wandering it’s relentlessly rehashing things I can’t control; things I can’t change; things that should no longer have impact on my thoughts. I try to reign it in. I try breathing techniques. I try guided relaxation techniques. I try clearing my mind and thinking of nothing (ok, I cannot be the only one who finds it impossible to think of nothing, as soon as the therapist says “don’t think of anything” my mind kicks into overdrive).

But then another image pops up. Another unanswered question is asked. Another “what if” thought starts forming. I know there are loads of people out there with similar busy minds (I read your blogs). I’m glad I’m not alone.

sleep

Image courtesy of Pinterest.com

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, anxiety, depression, GAD, Mental health, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Random Ramblings

  1. oh my goodness – YES!! That whole clear-your-mind thing just sends me down an Alice in Wonderland rabbit hole! And I hate when my brain won’t shut down. I give it an hour or so, and then give up and turn on the TV. Or, if I’ve gotten insanely uncomfortable during that time of tossing and turning, I get up and go to the living room, grab the pillow and blanket out from under the TV and watch TV in there. Sometimes a change of scenery is helpful. But, then I get irritated that I couldn’t sleep and frustrated that I had to switch rooms.

    It’s a vicious cycle, that’s for sure!

  2. I hear you!!!! My brain races often as well. It can be a struggle. Reading often helps me. Also, it helps if I have downtime before I turn off the light.

  3. This has been me all week so far! The post I finally wrote after my long hiatus was written at 11:20PM. Ugh, I wish I could crash like my lil’ has been doing. Hits the pillow and 10 minutes later is down for the night. If only… (smile). XOXO-SWM

    • Holly says:

      That sounds dreamy, falling asleep in 10 minutes….sigh. I’m glad she’s sleeping well, that will help with the anxiety. Big hugs and sweet dreams 😉

Leave a Reply

