Random Ramblings

ramblings

Tomorrow I am going to the theatre to see GI Joe: The Retaliation with my friends, Meg

What girl didn't want to kick butt and take names?

What girl didn’t want to kick butt and take names?

and Rita. I enjoyed the first movie and am looking forward to see what twists they’ve added to the plot. My brother was a huge GI Joe fan when we were growing up so my exposure to the “real American hero” goes back many years (I always wanted to grow up to be Scarlett, many people are glad I do not have combat training as it has been suggested I’m dangerous enough, lol).

This is going to be a great summer for movie goers (I love movies!!). Here are some of the ones I’m really looking forward to. Does anyone care to contribute to my movie fund??

iron man

Nobody delivers a quick, witty retort with the same panache as Robert Downey, Jr.
“When Tony Stark’s world is torn apart by a formidable terrorist called the Mandarin, Stark starts an odyssey of rebuilding and retribution.” From IMDB.com

star trek

I’m so excited for this one!!!! I love Star Trek (Hello, my name is Holly and I am a nerd.) I can’t wait to see Benedict Cumberbatch, BBC’s Sherlock, as the main villain. Eeeeee!!!!
“After the crew of the Enterprise find an unstoppable force of terror from within their own organization, Captain Kirk leads a manhunt to a war-zone world to capture a one man weapon of mass destruction.” from IMDB.com

fast

Who doesn’t love a supped up muscle car? And a good car chase? Winner!!
“Agent Hobbs enlists the aid of Dom and team to help bring a rival gang, led by Owen Shaw, to justice. In exchange for clear records, they must put an end to their schemes, no matter how personal the cost.” from IMDB.com

epic

When I was a kid I used to dream about the fairy world all the time. True confession, sometimes I still do.
“A teenager finds herself transported to a deep forest setting where a battle between the forces of good and the forces of evil is taking place. She bands together with a rag-tag group characters in order to save their world — and ours.”

now you

Morgan Freeman and Michael Caine?? Enough said.
“FBI agents track a team of illusionists who pull off bank heists during their performances and reward their audiences with the money.” from IMDB.com

after earth

Will Smith teams up with son, Jaden, for this sci-fi thriller. Did I mention I’m a sci-fi nut (aka nerd)?
“A crash landing leaves Kitai Raige (Jaden Smith) and his father Cypher (Will Smith) stranded on Earth, 1,000 years after events forced humanity’s escape. With Cypher injured, Kitai must embark on a perilous journey to signal for help.” from IMDB.com

man of steel

A new take on the Superman story. Looks interesting.
“A young journalist, molded by the morals of his earth parents, discovers that he is gifted with powers beyond his imagination, and he uses those powers to defend his adopted home from an insidious evil.” from IMDB.com

monsters u

Pixar has yet to disappoint me. Mike’s really looking forward to this one as Monsters Inc. is one of his favourite animated movies of all time.
“A look at the relationship between Mike and Sulley during their days at Monsters University — when they weren’t necessarily the best of friends.” from IMDB.com

despicable me2

I love the Minions!!
“Gru is recruited by the Anti-Villain League to help deal with a powerful new super criminal.” from IMDB.com

lone ranger

I don’t know how this one missed my radar until today. I always enjoy seeing what Johnny Depp comes up with to make his characters unique.
“Native American warrior Tonto recounts the untold tales that transformed John Reid, a man of the law, into a legend of justice.” from IMDB.com

red2

I loved the first Red, about retired spies who end up back in the game. This one looks just as good.
“Frank Moses and his motley crew of retired assassins return for a second outing.” from IMDB.com

wolverine

I don’t think I can stress my nerdiness any more…Star Trek, Superman, Wolverine. Can’t wait for this next installment about my favourite, Canadian, X-Man.
“Wolverine makes a voyage to modern-day Japan, where he encounters an enemy from his past that will impact on his future.” from IMDB.com

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Random Ramblings

  1. Enjoy the movies. I am sure I will see some of those you listed – I’m curious about Superman. I loved the first Ironman but the 2nd one was not good. I am curious about the Will Smith movie.

  2. Love, love, love the movies! I’m so with you on several of these! I want to see GI Joe in the theatre, so I’m totally jealous that you get to go! Iron Man, Star Trek, Superman, Despicable Me, Wolverine, Thor and The Hobbit are the movies on my list this year! 🙂 Our theatre has $4 Tuesdays, so during the summer I take off work early on Tuesdays and T and I go. Our theatre also is a bistro, so sometimes we’ll do the Saturday matinee and have lunch while we are watching! Just depends on my budget! 😉 Yay movies!!!

    • Holly says:

      A bistro?? Nice!! We have a deluxe theatre in a city nearby that’s licensed, but it’s like $20 to get in. Not in the budget!! 🙂
      I’ll let you know how GI Joe is. Might be worth a weekend trip for you and T.

  3. Well, I for sure enjoyed looking at all of your previews! This might be as close as I get to seeing any of these movies, except the fairy one, lol. Thanks for doing this, Holly! Great work! 🙂 XOXO

    • Holly says:

      I can see the fairy one topping Maycee’s list. I hope she’s doing well.
      I had fun looking them all up. You’ll have to catch some of them on DVD. I’m sure a few of them will be worth the rental money.
      Hope you’re doing well. Big hugs!!

  4. Pingback: WordPress Family Award | Did That Just Happen Blog

Leave a Reply

