Sunday Funnies

sunday funnies banner652379I have to confess, I’m almost as bad as Jeremy when it comes to screens. That’s why Sundays at the Madhouse are “screens-free” until 4 pm. At least most of the time (when I remember). The kids aren’t very fond of “screens-free Sunday”, but the board games do get a lot more attention on those days.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, children's mental health, comics, parenting, single parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Funnies

  1. I started to say “uh… no”, cause I’m sitting here on a Sunday morning on my laptop reading your blog. But, then I stopped and thought about it – normally on a Sunday we do church, then lunch and I usually don’t open my laptop. So, yeah, I could get behind that a bit. Except during football season, and then the TV comes on at 11 for the pre-game show and then the games. That’s not optional. We have an opening in our football stadium so God can watch – I figure he likes the company! That’s not the point… I got distracted. I’m glad that you schedule family time like that – it is suppose to be really good bonding and getting to know and staying closer time!

    • Holly says:

      Sounds like you do screen-free Sundays most weekends too!! And my bf would agree with you – football is always the exception. And the occasional hockey game. And apparently this year baseball will be a big deal. lol
      Family time is so important and I do enjoy it. I can’t speak for the kids, but I think beneath all the grumbling, they enjoy it too. 🙂

  2. I like the idea. As Sabbath obervers, Saturdays are like that and it is a really good day. However, when the Sabbath is over we all run back to our screens.

  3. Very funny comic, Holly! I can speak from the “other side” that I am not big into “screen” time any time. I’m on the computer all day at work, which includes some keeping my FB open and reading blogs when I get a chance. I’m on it a lot more now that I’m “seeing” Michel, since, well, it’s not like he can come over and visit, living 3008 miles away, lol! Maycee does enjoy her Disney Channel shows at the end of a long weekday, and then on the weekends I lighten up a bit with letting her watch morning TV, etc, but she’s not into anything more than that. 🙂 Luckily, living where we do, it’s just too darn nice not to want to be outside more than inside! Anyhow, I think it’s cool that you set aside one day to make sure you all look at eachother and engage in a way that doesn’t involve computers or TV. Good job! 🙂 Hugs from Cali. XOXO-SWM

    • Holly says:

      Weather plays a big part up here in our outside time. I’m not much of winter sports person, as a matter of fact, I’m not much of a summer sports person either. I have tried cross-country skiing and rather enjoyed it. But everything’s so darn expensive!! And I confess, I like to escape into movies and tv shows.
      I’m glad you have a good handle on it. Screens are taking over…but only if we let them 🙂
      Big hugs right back at you!!

Leave a Reply

