Report Cards: Part Deux

Last week I wrote to tell you about Alexi’s report card. Today (I finally remembered) I proudly bring you Rian’s report card.

Her best grade was in Technology (it was an intro to Tech and covered Horticulture, Machining and Design). Rian earned an 83. I was pleased. Her math mark was in the high 70s. Given that her final math grade in gr. 8 was just over 50%, I’m very pleased with her progress.

She managed to pull her French-language Geographie mark up over 10% and pulled up her Enlgish grade by about 20%. I was very proud of her for pulling her grades up, but was still discouraged because I know she’s capable of much higher grades.

However, I decided to follow the advice given by my blogging friend, Larry, over at Me, Myself and Kids. Larry advised I tell the kids how I feel – that I’m proud of them and feel they can do great things.

Here’s how it would have gone had I used the word “but”(this is how poor Alexi received his accolades):

“I’m so proud of you for pulling your grades up, but I know you can do better.”

Now, how does this sound?:

“I’m so proud of you for pulling your grades and I know you will do great.”

By changing the demoralizing “but” to “and”; “can” to “will” and “better” to “great” I think the message was much more encouraging (I spoke to Alexi again, told him what I had said the first time wasn’t exactly what I meant…he liked the second comment much better).

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, anxiety, children's mental health, coping strategies, depression, GAD, Mental health, OCD, parenting, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD, single parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Report Cards: Part Deux

  1. Hey, Girl! Great, great, great all the way around. And, good job with the word changes…they do make such a difference, huh? Lots of love and hugs! XOXO-Kasey BTW, if you don’t mind my asking, what part of Canada are you in? You can email me if you want at kasey.macinnes@yahoo.com. I’ve been meaning to ask you since Michel is in Quebec. I was telling him about my Canadian blogging buddy and how wonderful you are! 🙂 🙂

  2. Yay!! So happy for you guys!

  3. Yes. Love it! I am sure it will have a positive effect especially if you keep it up long term. Keep me posted.

Leave a Reply

