Random Ramblings

ramblings

I went to my first ever group meeting tonight. I was really hesitant to go, but am so glad I did. It was wonderful. All of the women shared openly. We laughed. It was great. During the meeting I shared this “word picture” with the group. Maybe it will resonate with you too.

Everyone’s familiar with the expression “when you fall off the horse you have to get back on”. I have my own take on it.

When you fall off the horse you pick yourself up, dust yourself off and get right thrownback on.

Sometimes you fall off the horse and you need to take a minute to rest before you pick yourself up, dust yourself off and get back on.

Other times you fall off the horse, pick yourself up, dust yourself off and walk beside the horse for awhile because you’re just not ready to get back up there.

Then, there are times you fall off the horse, drag yourself over, grab hold of the stirrup and let that sucker drag you for a bit because that’s the only way you’re moving forward. But the important thing is – you’re moving forward.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in anxiety, children's mental health, coping strategies, GAD, Mental health, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Random Ramblings

  1. I can honestly tell you, I’ve never thought about it like that! I am glad that you had a good time at your group meeting! Did you find it beneficial and will you go back?

    • Holly says:

      I don’t know that many people have!! lol Which is good, because sometimes, and I’m telling you this in the strictest of confidence, I’m a bit twisted. 😉

      Yes, it was beneficial. It was a very safe environment, which is wonderful to find. I would love to go again. I’m going to have to get in touch with the lady who hosted and see what her plan is for future meetings.

  2. Moving forward – yes. that is the goal. Sometimes the pace may not be what we wish but forward is the key.
    Glad the meeting was so helpful.

  3. Ouch! As a gal who rides those bucking broncos (not really, LOL, at least, not bucking thank goodness), seeing that photo gives me bruises! 😉 But, I love your analogies, and I agree. There are many ways to forge ahead, and sometimes we do so begrudgingly…the key is…we do so at all! Love, ya, girl, and hope the group meetings continue. XOXO-SWM

    • Holly says:

      I thought of you when I was searching images for this one!! lol Moving forward is key.

      Hope things are well at the Yellow Submarine.

      Big hugs,
      Holly

Leave a Reply

