Random Ramblings

One day while my mom was out grocery shopping she encountered a young mother and her two little girls. This is the story of that encounter that my mom shared with me.
It’s written from my mom’s perspective since it’s her story.

I was in the grocery store, shopping, when a cute, little, dark-haired girl of about 4 years approached my cart and said “Hi”, in that way only happy, little ones can do. I smiled and replied, “Hi, sweetie. How are you?” The little girl was with her mom and older sister.The older girl quickly reprimanded her sister, “You’re not supposed to talk to strangers.” This made me want to smile more, but I held back and said to the older girl, “You’re right, hon. You’re not supposed to talk to strangers.” The little one piped up, “That’s ok. She’s a mom.”

I smiled broadly and said, “Yes, I am.” The little girls’ mother was looking at the shelves, grinning the whole time.

Funny isn’t it? How easy it is to tell a mom out of a crowd?

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health, parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Ramblings

  1. Yes, we totally can tell. We have what is called the “Mommy bone” according to Maycee’s dad, and it is detectable from a mile away. 🙂 Thanks for sharing such a cute story!

  2. Holly says:

    I like, the “Mommy bone”. That suits a lot of moms I know. Thanks for sharing, Kasey.

  3. ocdtalk says:

    Great story. Reminds me that I used to tell my children (when they were young) that if they were ever lost or away from me and needed help, to go to another mom. Thankfully they never had to…..

    • Holly says:

      That is a blessing. I have another mom story from my mom that I’ll share on another Wednesday which will probably make you smile. Hope you’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

