Random Ramblings

A few years ago my brother and his wife (they weren’t married then but they are now) went to Scotland. I’ve mentioned before that part of my ancestry is Scottish and my brother is very attune with our family history so this was an exciting trip for him (someday

Not the most appetizing dish I’ve ever seen. My ancestors were either really hard up or really intoxicated when they came up with this meal.

I’ll go…see the pipers on the street corners, visit the little island where my ancestors used to live, try some haggis…ok, maybe not the haggis).

Upon their return Ty and Lisa presented me with a beautiful book of photos they had taken overseas as well as necklace. The necklace was handcrafted by an artisan on the Isle of Skye from sea glass that was washed up on the shore. It is unique and has become my favourite piece because of it’s beauty and because it came from Ty and Lisa.

Last year it went missing. I was devastated. I search high and low for it. I tore my bedroom apart. I went through all my purses and coat pockets. I emptied my jewelry boxes and dresser drawers. I searched the bathroom. Under the couch. I was desperate to find, but I could not.

After about 6 months I gave up hope of ever finding it. That was 3 months ago. This Saturday past I was getting ready for a Halloween party when Rian came into the bathroom and handed me my special necklace, “Here mom. I borrowed it for the Christmas dance last year and forgot to give it back.”

She “borrowed” it. Ten months ago. Without asking. Along with some of my make up (shows how often I get fancied up), which she returned at the same time. I know I should just be grateful to get it back, but I can pretty much guarantee that at some point over the course of the last YEAR I asked if she had seen my necklace. And I’m pretty sure the answer I received was “no.”

I’m so happy to have you back, my precious.

I love my daughter. I love my daughter. I love my daughter.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health, parenting, single parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Ramblings

  1. Just think of it as her way of saying she likes your tastes.

  2. Holly says:

    LOL I like your spin on it.

  3. Well, hmmmm, I think I agree MMAK above there…thank goodness you now have it back! And, I’m sure you were able to very calmly (eh-hem) let Rian know it is not okay to “borrow” things from you without asking first, right? 😉 A very beatiful necklace, indeed! XOXO-Kasey

Leave a Reply

