Random Ramblings

Recently I decided to switch cell phone service providers. I’d been with Telus for a few years and didn’t have any complaints until recently. I received a “free text” from Telus stating that text messages were going to start costing me $.25 per text if I have more than 250 texts in a month unless I upgraded to a new plan (I was doing pay-as-you-go with and unlimited texting plan or so I thought).  I can have more than 200 text messages in an afternoon so this was promising to be costly.

I did a little shopping around and decided to the same company I have my internet and cable TV with, Rogers. They offer a discount for bundling your services so this seemed like a wise decision. I spent a great deal of time on the phone and in the store talking with sales reps (did you know that Rogers stores and Rogers online and phone services are all separate entities? Very annoying.) before settling on a new phone, the Samsung S Glide Android, and plan (my new plan has unlimited texting and data so I can check my Facebook on my phone – pretty exciting stuff).

I wanted to keep my cell phone number just to make my life easier and Rogers was most helpful in arranging that (getting to the person who could make it happen though was an hour-long process of transfers and tele-prompt hell, however I prevailed and remained calm through out this experience…thanks, Mike). They contacted Telus and made the switch. No worries.

Except that I had a $50 balance on my Telus account before the account was closed. I’ve been considering getting Rian a cell phone and thought I’d give her my old phone and I could use that money to start a new account for her. Guess what? It’s not there. Balance $.00. I was told by a Telus rep that I needed to use the balance before I closed the account or the balance “disappears”. She said that should have been explained to me. I told it was not explained to me. I told her the $50 did not disappear. I told her Telus stole it from me. At this point I politely (that’s the term I’m going to use since I didn’t yell and I didn’t curse, but apparently I used a “tone”) said good bye and hung up.

I did not want to listen to her excuse Telus of their version of legal theft. I don’t care how much legal jargon you spin around this it’s still theft. You take and/or keep something that doesn’t belong to you it’s stealing. Pretty basic concept. It shouldn’t matter if you’re big business or not. Stealing is stealing.

thank you for allowing to me vent about that
 
*note – Telus Mobility is a subsidiary of Bell Canada
About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Ramblings

  1. Wow – you text alot!
    Anyway, good luck with the new provider.

  2. Holly says:

    I’ve heard it’s a “girl thing”.

Leave a Reply

