Random Ramblings


Things that make you go “hmmmmmm” or in this case “what the…”

I was creeping my son’s Facebook page the other day (I reserved the right to access his Facebook at anytime when I allowed him to have it so it’s not nearly as intrusive as it sounds) when I stumbled upon a message from one of his classmates.

This classmate, a 13-year-old Caucasian girl from our small-town in Ontario, Canada chose to close her message like this “pce real nigga“.

The demographics for our town from Wikipedia:
95.5% of the population is Caucasian, 1.2% Aboriginal, and 3.3% Visible minorities.

Maybe I’m out of touch with the young people’s vernacular, but I’d like to know when the use of such a derogatory term became main stream and socially acceptable?? Are we encouraging our youth to describe one another by using offensive language? Should I advise others to refer to me as a “dumb broad” or a “dirty mick” (my ancestors are Irish and Scottish) because that’s the “new normal”?.

I’m a little concerned about the next generation, but that’s nothing new.

 

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health, parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Ramblings

  1. No – it’s not cool.

  2. Holly says:

    Thank you for confirming that for me. I didn’t like it either, but have yet to figure out how to address it. I don’t think addressing the young girl via my son’s Facebook is a good plan. I thought about calling the school, but I have no idea what they could do about it. The only solution I can see is education, but I’m at a loss as to how to proceed.

  3. Hey, Girl. That is terrible! I wouldn’t address it directly with the girl or the school, but I would make sure that Alexi knows using that type of language is NOT okay on your turf or anywhere for that matter. Maycee hasn’t had anything quite so blatant as of yet, but even when she talks in her “rappa girl” tone with me, or gets a little too sassy with the attitude, I make it loud and clear that acting that way is not appropriate to me and not okay with me. If her friends get away with it, then fine, but we communicate differently. Wow. I’m just stunned at the FB comment, though. If the girl only knew what she was truly saying and how degrading that term is….

  4. Holly says:

    I know…I wish they understood the actual meaning of their words. I think you’re right – just enforcing it in my home is really all I can do and educating my children to the power of their words. I just want to fix the world though…sigh.

Leave a Reply

