First Day of School Review

I have been gently reminded by a blogosphere friend that I have not reported about the kids’ first days of school.  I could leave you hanging and not tell you anything, but I won’t.

The kids both gave their respective first days –

Rian loved the high school! She said she only got lost about eight times, but it was no big deal. She likes her English teacher; has finished her Math homework at school two days in a row and loves her Technology Class. They planted poppy seeds yesterday so the flowers will be ready for Remembrance Day (Veterans’ Day for my American readers). Rian’s continuing the French Immersion program at the high school level and has Grade 9 Geography, in French, this semester. Her teacher showed them the Yakko’s World video (see below – try it, you’ll like it) yesterday in class and Rian was the only one of her classmates who knew who the Animaniacs were! (*sniff, sniff* I’m so proud of my girl)

Alexi (who was so nervous about his first day of school he told me on Monday night that he wasn’t feeling well and may have to come home early on the first day of school) came home all happy and told me his new teacher, Mrs. P., likes to tell jokes. His best friend is in class. The boy who bullies him is not. He has not had homework yet, so he’s happy.

This is copy of the Homework Policy Mrs. P. sent home with the kids. I found it at The Funny Farm.

School Homework Policy


Here is an explanation of the school homework policy:Students should not spend more than 90 minutes per night.  This time should
be budgeted in the  following manner:

  • 15 minutes looking for assignment
  • 11 minutes calling a friend for the assignment
  • 23 minutes explaining why the teacher is mean and just does not like children
  • 8 minutes in the bathroom
  • 10 minutes getting a snack
  • 7 minutes checking the TV Guide
  • 6 minutes telling parents that the teacher never explained the assignment
  • 10 minutes sitting at the kitchen table waiting for Mom or Dad to do the assignment


LONG TERM ASSIGNMENTS

These are given the night before they are due.  This explains the name “long
term”.  It is a long term commitment to time that begins at 9:30PM and ends
at 11:50PM – or later.  It is important that the whole family is involved in
the project.  It is imperative that at least one family member races to
Walmart/KMart for posterboard, and that at least one family member ends up
in tears  (does not have to be the student).

One parent needs to stay up and complete the project.  The other parent
needs to call the  school and leave a message that the student is out sick.

It is not necessary to have the student’s name on the assignment.

All said and done, I think this is setting up to be a great year! I can’t wait to meet the teachers.

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, children's mental health, coping strategies, parenting, PTSD, single parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to First Day of School Review

  1. kimreurink says:

    The boys are on their second day of school. The first day was Wed and they went for 90 minutes. They were happy with that!! This is the first full day and I am going to go pick up Josh in a moment. Caleb and Josh are both still hoping to meet friends. Like their mom, they are not natural friend makers. oh well God has their backs!! Talk to you soon. I think I’ll make cookies with Josh when I get him at 2:30. That’s right, they get dismissed at 2:35 instead of 3:30. Hope they get a decent education this year!!

    �tootles…lol

    Kim

    ________________________________

  2. That’s great. The boy that bullies him? Are the proper authorities aware of this? I hate bullies.

    • Holly says:

      Yes, the school is aware of him. It came to a head last year. Alexi was able to stand up to the boy and was backed up by some of his classmates. There were no incidents during the summer, he lives in our neighbourhood, and no real contact this week.
      I hate bullies, too. It’s been challenging dealing with bullying as the parent. It dredges up a lot of my own issues from childhood.

      • Good for your son for standing up to the bully. There was a movie that came out last spring called Bully. I never saw it but want to. Maybe, you and your son should check it out too.

      • Holly says:

        I remember hearing about that one. I didn’t see it. I’ll have to ask around about it. I am reviewing a book called “Bullied” on the 20th of this month on the Madhouse (should probably start reading it soon). It’s supposed to be good. Hopefully I’ll glean some info out of it.

  3. Yahoo! All great news to hear/read, and I LOVE the homework policy. Too cute. Kudos to Mrs. P for keeping things light-hearted. 🙂 Thanks for the report! ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

