Wednesday, September 5, 2012

I’ve been feeling a little down lately. Over the past year I’ve been making active choices to eliminate negativity from my life – be it my own thoughts, external sources (movies, books, etc.) or people. This past week I made the choice to sever relationships with two such negative individuals. I believe they were the last of the negative people that I have allowed to affect to my life and it was a difficult decision to make, but a necessary one.

What I find interesting is that these individuals are never aware of their own negativity. They are oblivious to how their actions, words and deeds affect those around them. However, as my brother pointed out, at least one of these people is incapable of meeting my expectations, no matter how what those expectations are or how “normal” they may seem to have them. The other person, I believe, feels that I don’t meet their expectations. This has led to a 20-year cycle of misunderstandings, misrepresentation, hurt feelings, negativity and un-forgiveness (I’m still working on forgiving, but as C.S. Lewis said “For we find that the work of forgiveness has to be done over and over again.“)

You may be wondering where I’m going with this, it’s Word Wednesday but so far there’s no word. There is method to my madness (ooo, there’s a good one!) – I’ve been feeling depressed; down; “blue”. That got me to thinking, why do we use the word “blue” to describe sadness? So, being the ever curious individual that I am, I looked it up. I was only able to find one source, but it offered interesting insight into the use of “blue”.

From Yahoo! Answers:

In the English language, blue may refer to the feeling of sadness. “He was feeling blue”. This is because blue was related to rain, or storms, and in Greek mythology, the god Zeus would make rain when he was sad (crying), and a storm when he was angry. Kyanos was a name used in Ancient Greek to refer to dark blue tile (in English it means blue-green or cyan).[3] The phrase “feeling blue” is linked also to a custom among many old deepwater sailing ships. If the ship lost the captain or any of the officers during its voyage, she would fly blue flags and have a blue band painted along her entire hull when returning to home port.[4]

Source(s):

There were a number of images when I Googled “feeling blue” (many of which were, not surprisingly, even more depressing…ooo and pictures of Smurfs popped up too!), but this was my favourite:

He’s actually kinda cute.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health, definition, depression, etymology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wednesday, September 5, 2012

  1. Good for you for actively making a positive change in your life.

  2. Holly, this post is all so terrific. I, too, recently severed ties with someone (ugh, my boyfriend of all folks) who I found was actually bringing me down despite his often cheery demeanor. It was more of his up and down actions that finally came to a head, and I, for the sake of all I’ve rebuilt, including my self-esteem, needed to face the music. I’m getting better at recognizing this as I get older, and it’s a blessing. While the action is difficult to take initially, when it’s the right thing to do, nothing but the positive can come of it. So, here’s to you and taking care of you, because THAT is what matters most. Now, how did the kids’ first days of school go?!? I’m dying to know! XOXO-SWM

    • Holly says:

      I’m sorry to hear about your relationship ending, but I’m happy that you are putting yourself first. I know I haven’t posted about the first day of school yet!! I’m so bad. I will tonight, I promise 😉
      Big hugs.

  3. Pingback: Wednesday, September 12, 2012 | survivingthemadhouse

Leave a Reply

