Off the Radar

Hey, folks. Sorry I’ve been off the radar lately. I’ve been a little, let’s say moody, since I started the decrease in my medications. I haven’t been thinking very clearly so I’ve opted out of writing anything too close to home since I don’t know how I’m going to react (ask my kids, you should be grateful I’ve been leaving you out of the crazy loop – they have no choice).

Some side effects I’ve been experiencing while weaning off the meds include:

dizziness (yup, the meds cause the spins while I’m taking them and whileI’m going off them – fun stuff)

headaches (see above note)

mood swings (I make PMS look like a walk in the park; menopause is going to be a breeze after this adventure)

confusion (Etch-a-Sketch brain to the power of 10)

diarrhea (sorry, but it’s true)

busy mind (thoughts are shooting around my cerebrum like greased lighting – the song is going through your mind now, isn’t it? bwahahahaha, I must share the madness)

nightmares and vivid dreams (I think I should send some of the imagery from my recent dreams to Tim Burton, I’m sure he could use them in his next project)

difficulty sleeping (see above two points and you’ll understand why)

I’m glad I’m doing this though, despite the side effects. I am confident that doing this “med purge” will prove to be a positive step on my journey to wellness. That doesn’t mean that I discount the positive affect the correct medication may have on my mental health (key phrase here – correct medication), but only time will tell. For now, I’ve decided to take one step at a time and stay in the now – no matter how whacky the now is.

I’ve been saving these up for awhile and now is the perfect time to share them!!

Dramamine might help the kids survive this….note to self, ask pharmacist about Dramamine.

All silliness aside, this is really what I’m doing…thanks for all your encouragement.
Hugs,
Holly.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health, coping strategies, parenting, single parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Off the Radar

  1. I hope the med purge proves helpful and you get ther results you desire.

  2. Holly says:

    Thanks, me too. If not, I’ve subjected my family to this craziness for nothing. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

