Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Wow, Wednesday again!! I really shouldn’t be surprise, it does happen once every 7 days, but this summer has been flying by!! It’s now less than two weeks before the kids start school. I don’t know about you folks, but I’m really looking forward to school….I need a break (the kids may need a break from me too, I’ve started weaning off my meds already, but I’ve been told the next few weeks aren’t going to be pretty; better for everyone if the kids are somewhere else for 6 hours a day).

Today’s word was a random pick – wacko or whacko.

From Merriam-Webster:

definition – wacky
example – the governor’s staff spread rumors that his opponent’s wife was wacko, as she had once undergone shock therapy for depression

From Oxford Dictionaries:

adjective – mad; insane: his wacko conspiracy theories

noun (plural wackos or wackoes)
a crazy person: a trailer park peopled by exotic wackos and misfits

From Urban Dictionary:

1. crazy, weirdo, dummy.
that girl is a whacko for dating a guy who is 20 years older than her!

2. Something surprising and often of interest. Generally said with a British accent for effect. 
“Hey check out this new gadget.”
“Oh, whacko.”
(you read it with a British accent, didn’t you??)

From Online Etymology Dictionary:

wacko – extended form of wack, recorded from 1977.

wack – “crazy person,” 1938, back formation from from wacky. Adjective in slang sense of “worthless, stupid,” is attested from late 1990s.

wacky – “crazy, eccentric,” 1935, variant of whacky (n.) “fool,” late 1800s British slang, probably ultimately from whack “a blow, stroke,” from the notion of being whacked on the head one too many times.

When I Googled images for “wacko” I found several disturbing images of Michael Jackson and the following:

Wakko from Animaniacs!! I love Animaniacs.

This image is from a BBC sitcom called Whack-o. The show, which aired from 1956 to 1972, featured Jimmy Edwards as Professor James Edwards. “Prof Edwards is one of the great characters of sitcom, an unapologetic, scheming drunk, who constantly runs rings around his fellow masters and thinks nothing of cheating and manipulating charges and colleagues alike.” – from bbc.co.uk

I think “wacko” has been the least surprising of the terms I’ve researched thus far. I really don’t mind this one. Any thoughts?

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in definition, etymology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

