Wednesday, August 15, 2012 con’t

I’ll be honest, I really didn’t feel like writing this post, but I said I would so here it is…

Head Case or Headcase

We already know what Merriam-Webster had to say about “headcase”; see yesterday’s post if you don’t know what I’m talking about. It’s possible I over reacted to Merriam-Webster‘s example of “head case” in a sentence (I’m cutting back on my meds, as recommended by the psychiatrist, so it’s likely I’m a tad more emotional than I have been in the past few years – think PMS multiplied by about 10 – yes, you should pray for my kids, and my pets). However, let’s take a look at some other resources.

From Cambridge Dictionaries Online:

a person who behaves strangely or who is very silly or violent

MacMillan Dictionary:

an insulting word for someone who you think is crazy

From Urban Dictionary:

1: A mentally unstable person who acts carelessly
2: A person who is not of sound mind.
3: A crazy, nutty, eccentric person.
That BTK dude is a real head case.

Someone who hogs the ball in basketball.
Yo man you are a true head case.
I never thought I’d see the day where Urban Dictionary had more carefully worded definitions than the “big” online resources. I don’t whether to be scared or impressed.

The only etymological information I could find was on Wiktionary:

Etymology

head +‎ case

No one can ever say Wiktionary isn’t informative.

Naturally, there were some pretty disturbing images affiliated with the term “head case”; I’m choosing not to share them because, frankly, they freaked me out. However, I did find this little morsel of musical trivia:

Head Case is a “groove metal” band from York, Pennsylvania. Things that make you go “huh”.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health, definition, etymology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday, August 15, 2012 con’t

  1. So, why bother? It’s you blog – you make the rules. Write what you like.

  2. Holly says:

    Interesting thought…I’ll have to ponder that.

Leave a Reply

