Sunday Funnies

I don’t know about you, but one of my favourite childhood memories was racing to open the paper on Saturdays so I could be the first one to read the colour comics. I would giggle at Garfield, ponder The Far Side, empathize with Charlie Brown, and chuckle at Hagar the Horrible. One of my all-time favourites was Calvin and Hobbes; it still is. Now that I’m a parent to teens (Alexi will be 13 in December – crazy!!) I have a new found appreciation for Zits.

You may be wondering where this stroll down comic-strip lane is leading, well let me tell you. I subscribe to an online service that delivers funnies to my inbox, and have received many that I have shared on the Madhouse Facebook site (you can “like” by clicking the button on the right – right over there), but not all Madhouse readers to get share in the joke. So, in the great tradition of newspapers (I am a non-practicing journalist after all) I have decided to create a new weekly post for Sundays (since that’s when the colour funnies are delivered now apparently) appropriately called “Sunday Funnies”.

I will share comic strips, memes, humourous pictures or any other image that tickles my fancy. Each one will be something that resonates me with a different level as I navigate life in the Madhouse. I hope you enjoy the light-hearted humour as much as I do.

You ever get the feeling this is what happens when you talk to your kids? Me too.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health, coping strategies, parenting, single parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday Funnies

  1. Funny. i am not ab ig comics person, but I’ve seen this strip before, and I like it.

  2. Too cute! I’m so happy God paces us into teenager-hood. Soooooo not ready for it! 😉 Oh, and I’m happy you will be posting the Funnies, as I, too, loved reading them in the paper when I was a kid. We only get a small local newspaper now on Fridays (it’s free), no Funnies included, so this is going to be a real treat! Thanks, Holly! XOXO-SWM

  3. Holly says:

    Glad to help bring some humour to your week. 😀
    Hugs.

Leave a Reply

