It’s Time for Routine….Again

I’ve decided it’s time to introduce some structure into the Madhouse. If you’ve been with me for awhile you know I’ve tried this before with little success. If you haven’t you can check out Good Morning, Starshine and then you’ll understand.

That about sums me up.

I’ve had several counselors, more than a few friends and a couple family members offer their assistance in this same process in the past. This time I’ve done something different. I’ve done some research and taken the initiative to create the foundation on my own. I’m hoping this will improve my odds with the follow through.

I bought a recipe card box, recipe cards and dividers. On the top of each card I’ve written the the name of each room in the house: Living Room, Bathroom, Kitchen, Dining Room, Bedroom, Man Cave (Alexi has claimed my storage room as his “guy space” since he’s surrounded by females). Under this I’ve listed, in detail, each task that needs to be completed in order for that room to meet an appropriate level of cleanliness. I’m going to make a card for Yard Work and Outside Tasks (yes, they are different chores lists).

I came across this little beauty of a list on Pinterest.

The dividers I purchased have the alphabet on them so I flipped them over and wrote the days of the week on some of them (7 to be exact). On the others I will write each of our names, Daily Chores and Special Chores (this will be spring cleaning-type stuff, I may use them as consequences. I haven’t decided yet). Under each divided section I will place the corresponding task. By dividing the tasks as a daily chore I think by dividing the tasks up as daily chores  the housework will seem less daunting.

I’m going to adapt the schedule so it suits our needs and time commitments better, but other than that I think this will work. I’m going to let you know how it goes, add that to one of my days as a “must be done today” thing. Maybe the extra accountability will help me succeed with this venture.

Also, I’d be grateful if anyone out there has other ideas or adaptations that might help us bring order to the chaos.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, anxiety, children's mental health, coping strategies, GAD, OCD, parenting, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s Time for Routine….Again

  1. lilcountrymouse says:

    I hope it works out for you!! Even without kids, I have an extremely difficult time keeping to a routine! Good luck, I hope the kids embrace it eventually 🙂

  2. Holly says:

    Thanks! I need all the best wishes I can get. 🙂

  3. I hope your new system works out. It sounds like you put alot of thought into it.

  4. Good luck with this, Holly. I agree, accountability might be helpful (to us, that is, hee, hee). Running systems are difficult, and I know that for myself I can’t keep to a regimen like the one above. But, as a previous Tuesday Tidbits & Tips post I wrote earlier in the year, I do use a dry erase board to list “to-do’s” for the week, writing out each day and what must get done. I then write a list of weekend chores that I try to accomplish. Before being on my own, I did have a Mon-Friday type list of regular things I did each day, as well as listing what dinner was going to be, etc. Now, I just try to get by and keep Maycee along with me. 😉 Can’t wait to hear how it’s working! Hugs, KaseyXOXO-SWM

    • Holly says:

      I’ve always just flown by the seat of my pants, but since I’ve been unwell I haven’t been flying, as it were. I’m hoping the structure will help me and the kids. I was hoping to start today, but I’m afraid the head said “no”. Tomorrow’s a good day though. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Catching Up | survivingthemadhouse

Leave a Reply

