A Summer of Celebrations

July has been a month of celebrations in the Madhouse. On the 7th, my brother, Ty, and his beautiful partner of 10 years, Lisa, celebrated their love with a marriage ceremony. It was wonderful.

My brother wore a kilt in my mother’s family tartan – The MacDonnell of Keppoch. He participated in an old Scot’s tradition of presenting his bride with a sash in the family tartan. They performed a smudging ceremony; read 2 beautiful Native wedding prayers (note: we aren’t of Native blood, but my brother is a very spiritual person); and stole a kiss before the officiant said “kiss the bride”.

The bride and groom exchange their vows.

Rian was asked to collect the prayer rock. The couple tied their rings to the rock and passed it around to those in attendance asking that we put a prayer or energy into rock. The rock will be a beautiful symbol of the love of their friends & family.

Alexi was asked to hold the sash until Ty was ready to present it to Lisa, but I missed the shot. Instead, here’s one of their “official” kisses.

The happy couple.

The other exciting event that happened, the day after the wedding interestingly enough, was the birth of the kids’ nephew – Callum. Their older sister, Cassandra (my step-daughter, I still say that even though I’m not married to her biological father anymore), gave birth to her first-born on July 8. He weighed a whopping 8lbs 14oz and is cute as a button if I do say so myself.

He’ll call the kids Auntie Rian & Uncle Alexi.

I think I’m finally caught up on all the events that have happened, whew. We’ll now return to our regular programming – as regular it gets in the Madhouse, anyway!

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Summer of Celebrations

  1. Interesting customs. They look very happy – may they live a long sweet life together.

  2. Ahhhhhh, how sweet are both of these wonderful events that you shared with us! Best to all from your friend, Kasey. XOXO-SWM

  3. Pingback: Random Ramblings | survivingthemadhouse

Leave a Reply

