Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Even Word Wednesday gets a new a look!! 

Today I have chosen the term “gaga” for no other reason than I can.

From Merriam-Webster:

1: crazy, foolish
2: marked by wild enthusiasm: infatuated, doting

Examples of “gaga”:
1. I can’t understand how anyone could be so gaga over gold.
2. He thinks that most artists are at least a little bit gaga.

From The Free Dictionary:

1. silly; crazy
2. completely absorbed, infatuated, or excited: They were gaga over the rock group’s new album.
3. senile; doddering

From Online Etymology Dictionary:

“crazy, silly,” 1920, probably from French –  gaga “senile, foolish,” probably imitative of meaningless babbling

And the surprise source of the day, 20,000 Baby Names from Around the World:

Gaga – A Babylonian deity. Gaga was one of the minor gods. In the Epic of Marduk (q.v.) Gaga appears as a messenger sent by Anshar to Tiamat to announce the coming of Marduk. The message is received by Lakhmu (q.v.) and Lakhamu, and causes consternation among the Igigi (q.v.) (An Encyclopedia of Religions, Canney, 1921)
 
Who knew Gaga was a name for someone other than:

The one, the only (or so I thought before I saw the entry in 20,000 Baby names) – Lady Gaga.

ps – I Googled “gaga” in images and of the hundred or so I scrolled through they were all pictures of her. Does that mean she’s the only thing on this planet right now that is “gaga”? Things that make you (ok, maybe not you, but me for sure) go “hmmmmmmm”.

pps – Happy Independence Day to my American friends!! Hope you have a great day off.
About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health, definition, etymology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday, July 4, 2012

  1. Thanks for another fun entry, Holly! The 4th was great…watched fireworks on the beach last night with my bo and his kids….oh, and I like your new layout, too! Very clean and crisp! 🙂 XOXO-SWM

    • Holly says:

      Thanks, Kasey! I’m liking the new layout too.
      Fireworks on the beach are the best! Glad you had a great holiday.
      Hugs – Holly

Leave a Reply

