Change Is In the Air

Change is happening all around us, every moment of every day. Spring has turned into summer (a rather hot summer! I am Canadian. I do not like 47C or its equivalent 116.5F. Texas, you can have your weather back.) Rian has graduated from Gr. 8; a big change in our school board as she advances to high school in the fall. Alexi is growing like a weed and so is Cliff, the kitten. My brother is getting married this weekend. One of my dearest friends, K. (you may remember her family from Day Tripping and Stay-cation Summary) is moving 4,181km or 2,598mi away to British Columbia. And I’ve been doing some really hard work at therapy to bring positive changes to my thinking and reaction patterns.

For those of you with keen perception you may have noticed there’s been a change to the Madhouse too. I decided with all the change that’s been going on at the real-life Madhouse the virtual Madhouse needed a little renovation too. As much as I loved the feel of the previous layout; like an old journal just waiting for me to pour my words into, I don’t think it was indicative of the changes the Madhouse has gone through. The Madhouse, and its occupants, are in a different space now; a lighter space, airier, with more room to breathe and grow. I think this new look expresses that better (besides, who doesn’t love to redecorate).

I know I promised you a write-up about our trip to Ottawa, and you will get it, but since this post is about changes, I wanted to share with you the biggest change for Rian this year – Gr. 8 graduation. The ceremony was on the second last day of school. I allowed Rian to take the day off since she was getting her make-up done (thank you YWCA) and needed time to decided on a hair style. And she looked beautiful.

I wouldn’t lie to you. Isn’t she beautiful?

My amazing kids (I keep telling them to stop growing and they continue to defy me! Rotten little kids.)

All the girls were dressed up. Some wore heels. A couple wore stilettos (there was a bit of wobbling happening, but they all stayed vertical). The boys wore dress shirts & slacks (my grandma would be pleased that I used the word “slacks” in a post). Some wore ties (they were good to humour their moms like that). Rian was the 5th last person to cross the stage and receive her diploma from her homeroom teacher. It was a great moment.

It was a moment that held a plethora (I just love that word!) of change –  the end of elementary school (and no more Mme.); the first step toward high school (and a whole new world of friends, teachers, interests, classes, learning opportunities); another step toward adulthood. In that moment I was so focused on getting a nice picture of her and Mme. (and staying upright, the vertigo had attacked again; the girls in stilettos weren’t the only ones wobbling) that I didn’t pause to think about what that moment really meant for my girl. Now that I have taken the time to reflect I can’t believe it’s really happening. She’s really growing up and I realized….

…I’m not ready for this!!! High school drama; dating; boyfriends; her first broken heart; exams; zits; teaching her drive. This can’t be happening, not yet!!

My little princess. She’s growing up too fast. I swear I only took this photo last year.

Change sucks. (ok, not always, but this change is happening too fast and that sucks)

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Change Is In the Air

  1. Embrace the change – may it be for the best.

    • Holly says:

      Thanks for commenting!!

      Oh, it’s going to be for the best, of that I’m sure. She’s come so far in the last year in regards to her mental health I know she’s only going to do better. It’s just, sniff, sniff, I miss my baby. (I need a baby fix)

  2. Holly says:

    They are fascinating, aren’t they? What grades do you teach?

  3. Oh, Holly, thanks so much for sharing those wonderful pictures! Rian is beautiful, and I love the shot of Alexi and Rian together. So precious. It is hard and exciting all at once to watch our kids grow up, little by little, in what ends up feeling like lightening speed as we look back at theirs and our own childhood photos and wonder, what happened? Maycee is returning from a week long vacation at grandma’s, and I can’t wait to pick her up tomorrow! Lots of hugs…XOXO-SWM

    • Holly says:

      A whole week?? I don’t know if I could do that, lol. You’re a brave mommy.

      I told my mom it felt like yesterday I brought her home from the hospital. She smiled at me and said, “I feel the same way about you.” I guess that never changes.
      Sending hugs right back at you, Holly

Leave a Reply

