Wednesday, May 23, 2012

I feel compelled to warn you that today’s Word Wednesday may contain a spoiler from the movie The Avengers. Now that I have performed my public service announcement I will share with you today’s phrase, spoken in the movie by Bruce Banner, the  alter-ego of the Hulk, in reference to the villainous demi-god, Loki.

“I don’t think we should be focusing on Loki. That guy’s brain is a bag full of cats. You can smell crazy on him.”

Yes folks, you read it right, “That guy’s brain is a bag full of cats”. I have to admit, I laughed out loud in the theatre. Mark Ruffalo, who played Bruce Banner, delivered the line with perfection. I don’t know if anyone else could have done it as well.

I have never heard this expression before so was surprised when I found several different references online (including a band, Bag a’ Cats, and a couple of blogs). So here we go.

From Urban Dictionary:

1. The noise two women make when they argue/engrossed in an enthusiast conversation.
“Shut up the pair of you, you’re like a bag of cats.”
*spelling is copied exactly from the source

2. A bag of 2 or more cats, which is very noisy due to the cats fighting to escape the bag.
“Hey, what the hell is that noisy thing moving around on the ground?”
“Oh that? It’s just a bag of cats.”
“Huh…that’s a little odd don’t you think?”
“…yeah…I guess a little…”

 3. Default term for when you need to reference an unknown, undetermined, or wildly irregular fetish. To be used as a placeholder and/or euphemism for said fetish.

Also known used in the long form “punching a bag of cats”
Jane: To have a good relationship you need to be open about everything that you’re into.
Tom: But what if you’re into punching a bag of cats?
Jane: Well that’s something your partner would need to consider, isn’t it?
A bag of cats – A bad-tempered person, such as: “She’s a real bag of cats this afternoon!”  
He/She’s like a bag of cats = He/She’s in very bad humour
So it looks like The Avengers is the first to use it in reference to a “crazy” person (crazy here meaning mentally ill). Although I may be reading more into it than what was really meant. Either way, it’s an amusing expression.
Oh, and a side note – have you ever known anyone you can “smell the crazy on“? (that cracked me up too).

They look pretty peaceful to me.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health, definition, etymology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday, May 23, 2012

  1. Now this is one I have NEVER heard of either! Too funny! Can’t wait to see The Avengers, though. Looks awesome. Oh, and the kitties are precious. 🙂 Have a great weekend, Holly! It’s Memorial Day here, so we get three days off in a row. Woohooo!

Leave a Reply

