Day Tripping

On Saturday I took the kids back to E.E. Warwick Conservation Area near Eagle (famed in song and legend – Tales of An ADHD Mom). I invited my friend K. and her two boys, C. & J. to join us. They’re about the same age as Rian and Alexi. And so Rian wouldn’t feel overwhelmed by the pre-adolescent testosterone level that comes with 3 smelly boys I made sure her friend, M., could join us. Oh, and I remembered to bring our dog, Jake, along too!

A good time was had by all. The day was stunningly warm and sunny. The walk was lovely. We all played at the beach and collected rocks, lots of them (thanks to K. who hauled them all back to the car!). J. is diagnosed with ADHD too, as is his mom, K. Being in the great outdoors is fabulous for kids (and adults) with MHIs. The outdoors offer more freedom of movement. Kids don’t have to use “inside voices”. Plus, my brother, who is a real environmentalist and naturalist (being he’s into nature; if he’s into nudity – I don’t want to know) tells me there’s 30% more oxygen around trees which is fabulous for brain function.

Coleman Outdoor Gear put out an amazing commercial a couple of years ago spouting the benefits of the great outdoors for kids with ADHD. I’ve spent the last two hours online hunting for it and still haven’t found it. When I do I’ll post it for you (I will find it, it has now become my mission). Here are some pics from our day and I hope you’re all having a beautiful weekend.

Rian was hunting for fossils and sea glass.

Alexi found some fascinating rocks with multiple fossils.

Jake enjoyed the sunshine and the fresh air.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, anxiety, children's mental health, coping strategies, depression, friendship, OCD, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day Tripping

  1. What a wonderful day, Holly! I absolutely adore the beach and plan to take Maycee there on Memorial Day to enjoy some sun (hopefully), sand, seashells, and anything else with an “s” and beyond! Thanks so much for sharing. Hugs! XOXO-SWM

  2. Holly says:

    I’ve never been much of a beach bunny, but I really enjoyed this day. We’re going to fire up the kids’ rock tumbler this week and see what happens to some of the great rocks we found. Should be interesting. I might even do a “before & after” shoot.
    Enjoy your time at the beach. Cali offers sooooo many options for beach goers!!
    lots of love, Holly

  3. Pingback: Stay-cation Summary « survivingthemadhouse

  4. Pingback: Change Is In the Air | survivingthemadhouse

Leave a Reply

