Tales Out of School

I remember when I would tell stories about my friends or cousins and my mom would say I was “telling tales out of school”. Apparently it means you’re spreading gossip, but I’m sure I wasn’t…ok, maybe a little. I was just a kid. I’m much better now that I’m all growed up.

Every once in awhile I remember a story from when my kids were younger that I get the urge to share with my readers. Most of these “tales” are light, usually comical and almost always sweet. They remind me that kids are like onions – they have layers (quoting the great and wise guru, Shrek). So I decided to call these little segments Tales Out of School.

A few summers ago we had a trampoline in the backyard. The kids loved the trampoline, especially Alexi. They would bounce on it. Run on it. Wrestle on it. Sword fight on it (relax, they were Nerf swords. They’re only allowed to use real swords when their feet are on the grass). Sprayed water on it and slid around. Laid down and read. It was a well-used trampoline.

One lovely summer’s eve we all went outside to play on the trampoline (for me this usually meant two bounces and then I had to pee, ladies I’m sure you understand), but we ended up lying on it and stargazing. It was beautiful. The night was clear. The stars were bright. I had the two loves of my life beside me. That moment in time was a little piece of heaven.

I remember sighing in contentment. I told the kids, “This is so serene.” Alexi popped right up, “What’s serene, mom?” “Well, serene means peaceful and tranquil.”

At that, my son jumped right up and started bouncing with all his might while yelling, “Wreck the serene! Wreck the serene!”

I guess ADHD doesn’t do serene.

Alexi and Rian reading on the trampoline. I think I should have wrecked their serene.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tales Out of School

  1. I think it’s something born in them that makes them “kill all the things quiet”…LOL

    • Holly says:

      I think you’re right. I still enjoy watching them sleep though. I’d like to say he’s quiet then but he talks in his sleep too. 😉

  2. Laura Wright says:

    My ADHD guy would do the same thing. Heaven forbid there be any “serene.” 🙂

    • Holly says:

      I’m glad you understand. I would sneak out once in awhile and lie on the trampoline to try to recapture that moment. It lasted just long enough for my kids to realize where I was and come bounding in. Maybe we’ll have serenity once they move out 😉

Leave a Reply

