My First Speech

Yesterday I gave my first ever “speech” (I use that term loosely since I didn’t write anything down) for the Elgin Wraparound Fundraiser. I video taped it (first time I’ve done that too, it was an exciting day) and am posting it here to share with all of you.

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My First Speech

  1. Anne Ashfield says:

    Awesome Holly! Thanks for sharing your heart, experience and most of all your love for your kids. One dayat a time, you will all survive. (hugs) šŸ™‚

  2. Jonathan Taylor says:

    Awesome speech! I’m trying to imagine what it would be like to send my sons to schools that didn’t do anything for developmental issues—yikes!

  3. Holly says:

    Thanks, Jonathan. i’m hoping to do more, maybe next time I’ll do a little prep work thought.

    It’s a challenge sending her to school everyday. She’ll come home in tears or screaming and yelling. At her age (14) you’d expect to blame it on adolescent hormones but that’s not always the case. I remind myself “And this too shall pass.” She’ll be in high school in the fall and the social worker there has a assured me there are kids there a lot worse off than Rian. The goal for now is just to get through the next month and a half without any blood shed in the classroom. :S
    Keep your fingers crossed for us, please. šŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Wednesday, May 16, 2012 « survivingthemadhouse

  5. Rachel Whatley says:

    Hey; Alan and I just listened to ” your speach”, that took courage. We will be praying for you.

    • Holly says:

      Thanks, Rachel. I realized I spelled speech wrong – I was thinking “speak” in my head. lol
      I appreciate all prayers. I hope all is well with you and yours. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

