Sibling Rivalry

Sibling rivalry and fighting is a common theme in any home and the Madhouse is no exception. My two will be at each other’s throats one minute and best friends the next. It’s quite dizzying. Today both kids were home with low-grade fevers. They’ve been battling this stupid virus that comes and goes as it pleases and totally messes with my schedule. (I blame the balmy weather we’ve had all winter – Canadian germs are meant to die in the freezing winter temperatures and that didn’t happen this year!)

The thing about low-grade fevers is neither child feels ill enough to be lethargic (there’s nothing quite as peaceful as a lethargic child, I know, I know it’s not healthy, but at least they’re still and quiet). Also, I had an appointment this morning and being the loving mother that I am I let them sleep in. What my kindness resulted in was my absence during breakfast and morning med time.By the time I returned after lunch it was too late for meds (the meds stay in their systems for 7 to 8 hours, since they also decrease their appetites I don’t like giving them to them too late in the day).

What happens when they don’t take their meds, you ask? Let me s’plain. My beautiful daughter, this lovely flower who is on the cusp of womanhood displays extreme aggression, anger and impatience. Qualities commonly found in rabid badgers. In counselling they used a beaker image to help Rian better understand what happens inside her. They say a picture is worth a thousand words, in this case I’ll use three pictures to illustrate the stages of Rian.

My son on the other hand turns into a bouncy ball. He bounces around the house, laughing at everything – especially his sister. They argue and fight over everything even more than usual. The tiniest slight (“her doll’s uncle’s cousin’s car’s nephew’s frog touched my bed”) is cause for a United Nations intervention (send in the Marines, please…actually just one will do, male, mid-thirties, about 6’2’…I can dream).

One would think I would be used to this type of squabbling between my children, after all it started very early on.  When I was pregnant for Alexi Rian, who wasn’t quite 2 years old, would climb onto my lap and sit on my pregnant belly thus sitting on her brother. He would kick her and she would poke my belly to make him stop (true story – I can’t make this stuff up, folks).  Now that they’re both heading into their teen years I’m afraid to even think about what means they will use to torture one another…although I think maybe I should increase my home owners insurance. Just in case.

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sibling Rivalry

  1. Ha, ha, this was hilarious, Holly! OMG, I feel for you! 🙂 XOXO-SWM

  2. Holly says:

    LOL I bet you’re glad you only have one!!

Leave a Reply

