Feels Like Home to Me

This past month I’ve been catching up with some old friends. A couple of weeks ago college friends came to stay. I had lunch today with an old friend and a little while ago I ran into a high school friend at Wal-Mart (yes folks, the convenience of Wal-Mart – get your groceries, underwear, automotive needs and have impromptu reunions all under one roof). It’s been great!

My high school friend has a son who has ADHD. She told me she loves reading the Madhouse but wonders where I’ve hidden the cameras in her house!! Apparently she has many of the same problems with her son that I have with my two. (I haven’t hidden cameras in anyone else’s home, honest. I have enough material in the Madhouse for a few more blogs – next year I may have to stoop to spying on others.)

Another friend, a woman I went to elementary school with, sent me a message on Facebook telling me how much she enjoys the Madhouse. She confessed that it is helpful to her to know that someone else struggles with some of the same parenting problems she does.

There was a third lady who contacted me to let me know her teen-aged daughter, who was in hospital for diagnosis and therapy, loves reading the Madhouse. I sure hope that some of my silly tales made her laugh.

Hearing these stories makes me feel great! That’s exactly why I started writing the Madhouse. I knew how alone I felt, but I also knew that I wasn’t alone. There are so many other families struggling with the same issues (compliance, defiance, acceptance, compulsions, hyperactivity, moodiness, bi-polar, ADHD, OCD, ODD and a million other letter combinations) that I knew I wasn’t on my own even when I felt isolated.

So last year, around this time, I decided to start to this blog. I wanted to reach out to people who were experiencing that same sense of isolation and let them know “You are not alone. I’m here, in the Madhouse, facing some the same challenges as you. Don’t be afraid. We’ll get through this together, with love, affection and humour.”

I’d like to thank my readers for sharing this last year with me. It’s been an adventure.

The Madhouse really feels like home now. A little askew, but homey none the less.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, anger management, anxiety, bullying, children's mental health, coping strategies, depression, friendship, OCD, parenting, PTSD, single parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Feels Like Home to Me

  1. Tammy says:

    I still don’t know about the no hidden cameras but I guess I’ll believe you and just be thankful that I’m not alone in my daily struggles. It’s great to be able to see a different point of view on the same issues we have in our home and of course, the humour in it too. It’s a good feeling to be able to laugh at it and see that we are “normal” and I am doing ok. Thanks for it all and keep on blogging!!!!!

    Tam-a-lam-a-ding-dong

    • Holly says:

      Thanks Tammy for your constant encouragement!! I’m sure we’ll have even more fun once all the kids are in high school. It’s not that far away you know….

  2. It really does feel good to get that kind of feedback. Keep up the good work.

    • Holly says:

      Thanks! And, yes, it does feel good to get positive feedback. I feel very spoiled actually, but that’s ok, I deserve to be spoiled! 🙂

  3. Awesome, Holly. I love the graphic, too. I so enjoy reading your posts, laughing at the way you put things (thank God for laughter) and sharing your journey. I’ve been a bit on the overwhelmed side and haven’t written anything lately…hoping I’ll get back to it soon. Hugs! xoxo-SWM

  4. Holly says:

    I’m always happy to share the craziness of my home life with others. I think Martha Stewart would curl up in the fetal position and start sucking her thumb if she saw my home! I love knowing that others are able to laugh along with me. Keep smiling and hugs right back at you!

    ps – I made that graphic with Paint! LOL

Leave a Reply

