Wednesday, April 25

I’ve been thinking about today’s post. I’ve been looking around the web trying to find just the right word for today when I came across a post where a young woman who has bi-polar disorder described herself as “mentally interesting” instead of mentally ill.

That got me to thinking. Mentally interesting. I really like it. Mentally Interesting. Interesting has a positive ring to it versus the ever negative “illness”. I think if we work together we can make Mentally Interesting the politically correct term used to describe people with mental illness.

What do you think, folks? Are we ready for a word revolution?

Yuppers, that sums me up.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wednesday, April 25

  1. Fantastic idea!!
    In all honesty, something different = interesting. The fact that someones brain works differently than anyone else’s should be regarded as interesting. The schools just need to figure this out now 🙂

    • Holly says:

      Thank you so much for commenting! I’m so glad you understand. It all starts with a small group of enlightened people and the rest catch up eventually…the schools are usually the last to catch on 😉
      Glad to know you get it!!

  2. Wow, I totally love this idea, concept, proposal! I’m on board, and I plan to use this with Maycee and her questions about the special day class kids at her school, if/when they come up again. Awesome share, Holly. Have a terrific day!

  3. Holly says:

    Thanks. I wish I could remember where I found it originally so I can give credit where is due. I’m sure I’ll come across it again in my travels. Hope you’re having a great start to May!!

Leave a Reply

