Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Well, I guess it’s safe to say Wednesday snuck up on me again. On a happy note, this is the first day out of five that I left the house. I’ve been down with some nasty headaches and bouts of vertigo, but according to my connections on Facebook (we all know Facebook is the be-all and end-all for information) and I’m not suffering alone. Friends of mine who suffer from migraines and chronic headaches have been having a rough go of it too. However, I did promise myself to write on Wednesdays and I’ve done pretty well so far (with the exception of that one, but we’re not going to talk about that).

Today’s word, more of an expression really, comes from Diane and Wendy who informed me today of this local gem – “popcorn kids”. According to my source it is a term used in only one of my city’s secondary schools to describe the kids in the developmental classes.

It’s very common in our area for the development classes to raise funds by selling bags of popcorn to the other students in their schools. The “normal” students at this particular secondary school have since dubbed the developmental students as the “popcorn kids”. Although the selling of popcorn is meant to be a positive thing for these special needs students their “peers” have turned into something derogatory by using this term to insult one another.

“Maybe you should go hang with the popcorn kids, loser.”

The joys of high school.

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in children's mental health, definition, etymology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday, April 18, 2012

  1. Isn’t it amazing how people can taint just about anything? All I can say is that I feel sorry for those kids who find it amusing.

  2. Holly says:

    I know, it’s crazy. People rarely surprise with how cruel and insensitive they can be. Hopefully they’ll outgrow it and one day realize just how malicious they were being.

Leave a Reply

