Victory Day!

The other day my son came home from school looking very forlorn. He told me it had been a bad day because he had “retaliated” against the boy who has been bullying him. Unfortunately, the young lad who came to our house a few months back to apologize (see Unexpected Surprise) has returned to his old habits.

I had Alexi sit down and tell me what happened:

“B. called me a mama’s boy and I yelled him ‘Stop picking on me, B! I don’t like it when you bully me!’ And then I tried to kick and punch him. One of the girls told the teacher what B. said and told him that B.’s been bullying me a lot. A., D. and T. all said that if B. picks on me again they’re going to tell him to stop.”

I don’t know about you, readers, but I was pretty impressed with my son and his four classmates. I told him he didn’t need to be upset about anything. That it was a victory day because he stood up for himself and some of his classmates got his back.

Alexi cheered up and we went to McD’s to celebrate!

(I don’t know about anyone else, but this song keeps running through my head while I’m writing this post so I’m going to share it.)

Victory Day, Victory Day
There’s no rockets flaring, there’s no loud display
If you walk with me we’ll get there someway
On that Victory Day

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Victory Day!

  1. Katrina says:

    Victory Day!! I’m gald to hear that some kids have the right idea!!! Great Job Guys!! 😀

  2. Good job for Alexi and his friends. This is indeed a victory, and well, celebrating at McD’s, icing on the cake, guys! XOXO 🙂

Leave a Reply

