Wednesday, March 14 & Tales of an ADHD Mom

It’s Wednesday. Again. It’s surprising how fast it creeps up on me. I have a word in mind for this installment of Word Wednesday, but first, a bonus installment of Tales of an ADHD Mom.

It’s March Break in our school district and God has blessed us with unseasonably warm temperatures. Yay, God! My kids have spent the last few days with glazed eyes as they have spent every waking moment (that I’m not paying attention to them) on screens. Little screens, big screens, flat screens, handheld screens – it doesn’t matter as long as it’s on a screen they are happy. (At least I think they’re happy. It’s hard to tell by their expressionless stare.)

Today the weather was forecast-ed to reach a balmy 17 degrees Celsius (62.6 degrees Fahrenheit for my non-metric readers) so I decided we were going to embark on an adventure. My main goal was get my kids outside and doing something active for a couple of hours. Now we are pretty blessed in where we live because we are close to so many wonderful things to do and see – we’re only a couple of hours from Toronto, a half an hour from London, a fifteen drive to Port Stanley on the shores of Lake Erie and multiple other beautiful towns and villages. I decided to go somewhere I’ve never been.

I randomly selected Port Glasgow because I’ve never been there and I love to say Glasgow. Glasgow, Glasgow, Glasgow. I packed my rather reluctant children into the van and headed west. We stopped at the local library and took out a few books on CD to listen to during the drive to our adventure and grabbed some McDonald’s for lunch on the road.

Out on the country roads I could feel myself start to unwind. I love driving. I really love driving in the country. We bombed along at about 85 km/h (52 mph), scarfed down the McD’s and listened to Avi’s The Book Without Words. It took about an hour to get to Port Glasgow (gosh I love that word). I’m not sure what I was expecting. I guess I thought there would be some funky little shops maybe even a small bistro-esque diner. What we discovered was a seasonal trailer park and a lovely marina. I was a little disappointed, but it was an adventure and what’s an adventure?

“An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.” ~ G.K. Chesterton.

I turned around and drove away from Port Glasgow (love, love, love). At the intersection of the main county road I, being the mistress of my own destiny or at least the mistress of which way to steer my van, opted to go straight rather than turn right toward home. We went to Rodney. Then headed to West Lorne. From West Lorne we went to Eagle. At Eagle I turned back onto the main county road and headed toward home, but I spied a sign for a conservation authority so I quickly turned off the main road. The dirt road we traveled down ended at a beautiful, forested park.

We climbed out of the van and trekked off to parts unknown. Ok, obviously they were parts known to someone because the path was very wide and extremely well maintained, but they were unknown to us. However, we were adventurers and adventurers do not take well-maintained paths. I led the kids down a much smaller path that followed a small gully. At the bottom of the gully ran a small but mighty stream (really it was more of a creek or “crick” if you’re from the country). It was so serene. The birds were singing loudly. There was rustling in the leaves and the brush. The forest was alive with wonder.

Rian climbed a tree.

Alexi's not particularly fond of heights so he kept his feet on the ground while Rian & I climbed the tower. Love the family portrait, eh?

The view from the tower. I love how blue Lake Erie gets the farther you get from land.

It was at about this point in our adventure I realized I was no longer in possession of my keys. Being the tomboy that I am the keys are on a blue Canadian Navy lanyard and I usually put them in my front right pocket with the lanyard hanging out. The kids and I turned around following our tracks in hopes of locating the keys. I prayed and prayed that they were on the ground by the van and not somewhere in the bush.

Rian trekked through some of the brush looking for them while Alexi went ahead to see if they were in the parking area. By this time I was getting dizzy (little FYI today marked day 2 of no headache or vertigo!!) probably because I was stressed. Rian came back to the main path disappointed that she hadn’t found the keys. As we neared the parking area I saw Alexi waving us toward him. “I found the keys!” he screamed. “They’re locked in the van! In the ignition (ok, he didn’t say ignition he said “hole thing where the key goes”).”

Fortunately I had my cell phone and I subscribe to roadside assistance. Unfortunately the number for the roadside assistance was on my keychain, on my keys, in the hole where the key goes, locked in the van. I looked around and decided to head to the nearest farmhouse to see if I could bum a coat hanger. Halfway down the road a little caution light goes off inside my head – I have just left my two children at a remote conservation area an hour away from our home while I walk to an unfamiliar house to make a request of unknown persons. Not very safe.I turned back around.

After a couple of tries I managed to get a hold of my mom who gave me the number for the roadside assistance. I added this number to my contacts list immediately and then called. I gave the very friendly man on the phone the details, including my cell number, and he assured me that a service truck would be there within 45 minutes.

An hour later I was starting to get a bit frustrated when it occurred to me that I had given the nice man the wrong cell number (yup folks, it’s true – please enjoy a hearty laugh on me). I hurriedly dialed the roadside assistance service again and told the nice lady on the phone what had I foolishly done. She consoled me by reminding me that I don’t call myself very often (only when I lose the phone in the couch cushions). She was very kind and let me know that the service vehicle was about 15 minutes away.

The service vehicle came right on time! And the lovely driver of said vehicle was polite, kind and had the van unlocked in minutes. He was our hero! I thanked him and we headed on our way. I took a few minutes to recap the day and decided that today was a most successful day. Now although I did not plan on losing my keys I did meet my goal which was to get my kids out and active for a couple of hours. During our wait time the kids wander around, picked up sticks, threw stones, laughed and soaked up some much needed Vitamin D and fresh air. Today was a total success! And not an inconvenience at all!

It's a beautiful area and I can't wait to go back!! Next time I'll put the extra key in my pocket or one of the kids's pockets.

Today’s story is brought to you by the word “crazy” as in “crazy lady” the affectionate name my children called me pretty much all day today. (had you heard me whooping it up in the woods, and dancing around the parking lot you may have said the same thing)

Crazy as defined by Merriam-Webster online: adjective

1a) full of cracks and flaws

b) crooked; askew

2a) mad, insane

b) impractical

c) being out of the ordinary

and from Online Etymology Dictionary:

from the 1570s meaning “diseased, sickly,” from craze + -y  (2). Meaning “full of cracks or flaws” is from the1580s; that of “of unsound mind, or behaving as so” is from the1610s.

There you have it folks. I was a crazy lady in the woods today. Sorry, there is no photographic evidence of this event since I don’t let my kids touch my camera.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, children's mental health, definition, etymology, parenting, single parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wednesday, March 14 & Tales of an ADHD Mom

  1. Ha! What a terrific tale and a great outing, Holly! I love mini-road trips such as this one…there is nothing better (in my opinion) than getting out into the open air, and especially getting to explore. I also commend you on getting through locking your keys in your car and still writing a positive post, LOL. I have not done that (knock on wood) in a long time, but it can be bummer. Sounds like you and your kiddos made the best of the time waiting. As for WW’s “crazy”, when you read my most recent post you’ll probably agree that the word fits me well, too. 🙂 Lots of hugs! XOXO

    • Holly says:

      I thoroughly enjoyed the adventure! I used to travel a lot with my dad and love adventuring around the country side. It’s a good sign in my healing process that I’m happy about doing that again. And crazy’s the only way to be!! 🙂

  2. barnyarn says:

    What a surprise to find out that we probably live within a half-hour of each other! I have yet to visit Glasgow (does the “gow” part rhyme with “cow” or with “go”?
    Being a crazy lady is a great thing and I’m sure your kids mean it in a 2c) sort of way 🙂

    • Holly says:

      I figured you were pretty close by – your descriptions of the area sound very familiar. The “gow” party sounds like “go” only with a slightly softer “g”. It’s hard to describe in writing and try as I might, I couldn’t find a video or audio clip with the pronunciation.
      And being crazy is the only way to be!! lol

Leave a Reply

