Tales of an ADHD Mom

I realize I’ve told more than one humourous (humourous in this sense is easily interchangeable with “embarrassing”) tale about my children. I think it’s about time I told one about me.

I remember the day well. It was a Friday, in May I think. I woke up lazily and looked at the clock. Oh crap! I forgot to set my alarm!! You know that feeling, don’t you? Terror spreads through your whole body and in nanoseconds your brain jumps into hyper-speed. I hopped out of bed, yelling at the kids to get out of bed as I tripped over the cat.

I sped through the hallway opening both kids doors and hollered “Get a move on!!!” I was on a mission and was channeling my inner Drill Sergeant. “MOVE IT, MOVE IT, MOVE IT!” I was dressed and getting the kids meds down their throats before their eyes were completely opened. Through nothing short of a miracle they managed to get ready and out of the house only a few minutes late to catch the bus. Being the loving mother I am, I advised them, in a tender voice, “RUN!!”

I sat down and heaved a sigh of relief. Whew, a semi-successful start to the day. It could have been better, but they were out the door and hopefully would get the bus. I always was a dreamer. A few minutes later both kids came back in the door, heads hung in shame. (I wonder if they fought over who had to go in first, obviously Alexi lost since he opened the door.) I grabbed my coat, a stream of disappointment spewing from my mouth.

“Youkidsdon’tknowthemeaningofthewordhustleyou’regoingtoneedtolearnto pickupthepaceifyou’regoingtosurvivethisworldbecauseit’snotgoingtoslow downforyoubeingontimeisimportantpeopledon’tliketo bekeptwaiting…”

Alllllllllllll the waaaaaaay to school.

Upon reaching the school we saw an empty school yard. “Great”, I continued, “The bell’s already rung. Get on, hurry up. Don’t dawdle.” They closed the van door and I sped off. I stopped at the gas station before I heading home. I was still fuming. I needed a few minutes to calm down. Usually I go for a drive when I’m frustrated. I love driving around the back roads checking out the fields and the pastures. I find it very soothing. However, I hadn’t had breakfast and hunger won out so I went home after filling the gas tank.

Upon entering the house I saw the answer machine light blinking. I thought that was kind of weird. I rarely get phone calls first thing in the morning. I pushed Play; “Holly, it’s Janice calling from the school. Could you please come pick up the kids? It’s a PD day.”

Can you say Epic Fail?

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, children's mental health, parenting, single parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tales of an ADHD Mom

  1. Ha, ha! I knew there was going to be a punchline to this one! Well, Holly, this happens to us all, right? I’ve been double checking the clocks since Saturday night making sure I had the right time with our time change that happens for daylight savings. This morning, with it still dark at 7AM, I was so afraid I was going to wake up late. Crazymaking! Great share and hearty laugh from a mom who empathizes. πŸ™‚

    • Holly says:

      I think the time change has thrown the Madhouse for a loop. Thank God it happened at the beginning of March Break!! Hope you’ve been able to adapt now that it’s been a few days. πŸ™‚

  2. Jonathan Taylor says:

    I have a non-ADHD friend who’s done this to her kids a couple of times on snow days. For her, the issue is OCD: her morning routine doesn’t routinely involve checking the local news for cancellations.

  3. Holly says:

    Growing up in Canada if it snows, even a few cenitmetres, the kids are checking the internet for school closures. However, I’m glad I’m not the only parent who has sent her kids to school on a non-school day. πŸ™‚

    • Jonathan Taylor says:

      We live in a large and mostly rural school district, so we have a lot of snow days. When I grew up in a different part of Michigan, we lived in a small district and so never had snow days. Hardly fair!!

Leave a Reply

