Wednesday, February 15

I have had my first Word Wednesday request. YAY!! So, at the request of Wendy, I present to you the word “diagnosis”.

Diagnosis first appeared as a medical term in the 1680s from the Greek diagnosis “a discerning, distinguishing,” from stem of diagignoskein “discern, distinguish,” literally “to know thoroughly,” from dia- “apart” (see dia-) + gignoskein “to learn” (see gnostic). (from the Online Etymology Dictionary)

Well, that was too easy. So I decided to investigate a couple of other more serious mental terms, like “mental” and “health”.

Again, from the Online Etymology Dictionary – “mental” first appeared in the early 15th century in Middle French (the French language as written and spoken c. 1400-c.1600) this was from the Late Latin (the literary Latin language as spoken and written c.300-c.700) mentalis “of the mind”. The Online Etymology Dictionary digs deeper into the root of the word, but I think this explanation sums it up. What I found most interesting was the Modern English (language of Britain and British America since mid-16century) definition – mental, a noun – mind (noun). The  meaning “crazy, deranged” is from 1927. So apparently you didn’t go “mental” until after 1927. Who knew?

From the Online Etymology Dictionary we bring you the word “health”. From the Old English (the English language as written and spoken c.450-c.1100) hælþ “wholeness, a being whole, sound or well,” and from Proto-Germanic (hypothetical prehistoric ancestor of all Germanic languages, including English) hailitho and from Proto-Indo-European (the hypothetical reconstructed ancestral language of the Indo-European family. The time scale is much debated, but the most recent date proposed for it is about 5,500 years ago) kailo “whole, uninjured, of good omen”. In Middle English (the English language as written and spoken c.1100-c.1500) health not only referred to physical health, but also “prosperity, happiness, welfare; preservation, safety.”

Well there you have it. The Madhouse was having a 3-for-1 deal today! Would you like to make a request? Comment or inbox me tynne@rogers.com.

 

 

 

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wednesday, February 15

  1. Well, I’m glad I was born after 1927 so I could fit into the “going mental” meaning of mental. I’ve been “going mental” especially today as my kiddo had to stay home again with her cold. I am happy to report, however, that in conjunction with the latter part of Word Wednesday, she is in better “health” and me, Mom, well, I’m on my way now that things will be somewhat back to “normal” tomorrow. Okay, I’ve used a lot of quotations marks in this comment, but I love ya, Holly! Thanks for sharing these each week-I really enjoy learning about words. 🙂 I have one for you, a diagnosis I’ve always been fascinated by and more curious about (I’ll probably spell it wrong): schitzophrenia. I had a buddy years ago who was diagnosed with this, but I really don’t understand it. Thanks!

  2. Holly says:

    Thanks, Kasey, it’s always a treat to hear from you! Glad to hear Miss Maycee is doing better. I will research schizophrenia next week for Word Wednesday. Thanks for the request!! Have a great Thursday!! Big hugs.

  3. Hi, Holly! Hope you’re having a good weekend. I just finished writing a post about the LOL Award, and I’m passing the honors on to you! Check it out, and thanks for being such a great inspiration to keep on keepin’ on and doing it with a sense of humor. Hugs! XOXO-SWM

  4. Holly says:

    Thanks, Kasey!! That’s so sweet of you. I’m just getting into my emails & posts today so I’ll get on posting my first ever award and paying it forward ASAP!! Hope you’re having a great President’s Day Weekend! We’re celebrating Family Day today, gotta love a stat holiday!! big hugs – Holly

Leave a Reply

